retired Warsuit concept

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 03 March 2013   #1
retired Warsuit concept

This is the ak47 of warsuits in the future. The suit was designed to handle all weather conditions, however, ice would build up between the crevices and when it thawed the titanium underneath would rust.

Soo...it's been sold to neighboring countries now as a cheaper alternative. Includes nanotechnology, carbon ceramic...visor not included so you can see his face.

I got pretty tired of seeing characters with body builder physiques moving with immense speed and stamina, I'm an athlete myself and I know you can't be slapping that much mass on your frame and still perform the way characters do in games. I Used sprinters as an example.

I'm currently a marketing student doing this as a hobby, but I would like to take game development in the future.

org line drawing

painted in ps

check out my deviant art

Old 03 March 2013   #2
It's great that you're focusing on the actual design, which is the most important job a concept artist is supposed to do. Too many misguided aspiring concept artists think it's about making pretty pictures, so they do these nice looking eye-candy with horribly illogical designs.

With that said, you need to also strengthen your critical foundations in visual art, otherwise, no matter how good your designs are, you won't be able to compete. Long gone are the days when concept artists can make great designs while having weak drawing/painting ability. Today's concept artists have to be both excellent designers as well as accomplished artists in general, or else they don't stand a chance against the ridiculously fierce competition.