CGTalk > Sponsored Challenges and Awards > Past Challenges (Archives) > Autopack Visualization Challenge
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-15-2013, 01:05 AM   #1
gj210
Frequenter
portfolio
Graham J
QB3 Faculty Fellow
University of California UCSF
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 138
Lipid Bilayers to Polish your Model

I'f you'd like to add some real detail and flare (and a viewport challenge) to polish your model in the 11th hour, you can try the new Lipid Bilayers we're posting through the night of March 15 for each of the HIV models. If you're up for a real challenge, you can even add bilayers yourself. Please visit this tutorial page for instructions on accessing or building the lipid bilayer models.


Last edited by gj210 : 03-20-2013 at 01:47 PM.
 
Old 03-16-2013, 03:56 PM   #2
ScientiaViz
PRO
 
ScientiaViz's Avatar
portfolio
Arik Thuesen
USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 128
Hey Graham,
Can you post more information about where to find these bilayers and tutorials? I am not seeing anything at your link above.
Thanks,
Arik
 
Old 03-16-2013, 06:49 PM   #3
Benr
Frequenter
 
Benr's Avatar
portfolio
Ben Rogall
Madison, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 196
Should we be seeing a new bilayer recipe in our autoPACK GUI? I am not seeing anything new. I tried manually updating from the help menu also.
Thanks,
Ben
 
Old 03-16-2013, 10:58 PM   #4
gj210
Frequenter
portfolio
Graham J
QB3 Faculty Fellow
University of California UCSF
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benr
Should we be seeing a new bilayer recipe in our autoPACK GUI? I am not seeing anything new. I tried manually updating from the help menu also.
Thanks,
Ben

Hi Guys,
The Bilayers looked promising two days ago, but are still giving us problems with the core code. I'm going to post just a couple example with strips of bilayer that you could use to zoom in on if you wanted to show some closeup I'll write back here when they are up and we'll try hard to get more and more regions filled.
I'm not going to release the code that would allow you to do this yourself yet, because it will require a major update to the versions of autoPACK everyone is using across all of the operating systems and Hosts, so we are afraid to break anyone's version with just hours left. I'll try to test and post some first strips for you within an hour. Please check back here.
G
 
Old 03-17-2013, 02:14 AM   #5
gj210
Frequenter
portfolio
Graham J
QB3 Faculty Fellow
University of California UCSF
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by gj210
Hi Guys,
The Bilayers looked promising two days ago, but are still giving us problems with the core code. I'm going to post just a couple example with strips of bilayer that you could use to zoom in on if you wanted to show some closeup I'll write back here when they are up and we'll try hard to get more and more regions filled.
I'm not going to release the code that would allow you to do this yourself yet, because it will require a major update to the versions of autoPACK everyone is using across all of the operating systems and Hosts, so we are afraid to break anyone's version with just hours left. I'll try to test and post some first strips for you within an hour. Please check back here.
G

Scrambling around today. I posted a few "test strips" of lipids that match HIV 1.3-1.4 and a long video to show you some tricks you can do with them.... I'll keep working to post some more relevant patches, but if you restart your system, you should now see lipids called HIV_1.3-1.4_LipidBilayerTest

Hack Video Tutorial for visualizing lipid test strips.

Last edited by gj210 : 03-17-2013 at 02:22 AM.
 
Old 03-17-2013, 03:56 AM   #6
jiaying701
New Member
portfolio
Jenny
Saint Louis, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
it is not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by gj210
Scrambling around today. I posted a few "test strips" of lipids that match HIV 1.3-1.4 and a long video to show you some tricks you can do with them.... I'll keep working to post some more relevant patches, but if you restart your system, you should now see lipids called HIV_1.3-1.4_LipidBilayerTest

Hack Video Tutorial for visualizing lipid test strips.

Hi, is there anyone who got it work? I used 3d max, blender, maya, but nothing showed there, except error.
 
Old 03-17-2013, 11:35 PM   #7
gj210
Frequenter
portfolio
Graham J
QB3 Faculty Fellow
University of California UCSF
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 138
Lipids 0.0 ready for C4D, Maya, and Max

Lipids are now functioning.
We've made the files backwards compatible with the versions of autoPACK that everyone should have installed in midMarch 2013.

To open the Lipid test strip file, there is one change from the video tutorial.
1) Start autoPACK

2) ViewerTab:
Load and autoPACK/cellPACK recipe for: Lipids
Recipe version: 0.0


3) The first time you load, it may take a long time to download all the needed files. With a fast connection using C4D or Maya the lipids should appear in 30-60 seconds. The second time you load they should appear within 10 seconds. Using 3D Studio max on the same internet connection, it takes some time to build the scene- about 4 minutes on my system.
HIV1.3 or 1.4 loaded in normal time on top of Lipids0.0 in C4D and Maya, but takes an additional ~4 minutes in 3D Studio Max.
More info.

Not yet tested in Blender and Soft Image.

If you discover any trick or speedups please post them here!

Thanks,
Graham

Last edited by gj210 : 03-18-2013 at 12:00 AM.
 
Old 03-19-2013, 03:06 AM   #8
splette
New Member
 
splette's Avatar
portfolio
Thomas Splettstoesser
SciStyle
Strasburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks a lot.
What a shame I am only seeing this thread now.
I've made my lipids myself (and place them with a Cloner Object in C4D) but been struggling a lot.

I'll check out the autopack lipids now
 
Old 03-20-2013, 01:39 PM   #9
gj210
Frequenter
portfolio
Graham J
QB3 Faculty Fellow
University of California UCSF
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by jiaying701
Hi, is there anyone who got it work? I used 3d max, blender, maya, but nothing showed there, except error.

Not sure why this just came to my email 3 days later, but I wanted to see if you had any luck loading. I only had feedback from one other user who tested in Max and Maya with success in both.
 
Old 03-20-2013, 05:13 PM   #10
jiaying701
New Member
portfolio
Jenny
Saint Louis, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by gj210
Not sure why this just came to my email 3 days later, but I wanted to see if you had any luck loading. I only had feedback from one other user who tested in Max and Maya with success in both.


hi, it is only because I am new member here. It takes time for my message to be validated. I am Ying who emailed you about the lipids bilayer.
 
Old 04-10-2013, 04:54 PM   #11
jiaying701
New Member
portfolio
Jenny
Saint Louis, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
update

Quote:
Originally Posted by gj210
Lipids are now functioning.
We've made the files backwards compatible with the versions of autoPACK that everyone should have installed in midMarch 2013.

To open the Lipid test strip file, there is one change from the video tutorial.
1) Start autoPACK

2) ViewerTab:
Load and autoPACK/cellPACK recipe for: Lipids
Recipe version: 0.0


3) The first time you load, it may take a long time to download all the needed files. With a fast connection using C4D or Maya the lipids should appear in 30-60 seconds. The second time you load they should appear within 10 seconds. Using 3D Studio max on the same internet connection, it takes some time to build the scene- about 4 minutes on my system.
HIV1.3 or 1.4 loaded in normal time on top of Lipids0.0 in C4D and Maya, but takes an additional ~4 minutes in 3D Studio Max.
More info.

Not yet tested in Blender and Soft Image.

If you discover any trick or speedups please post them here!

Thanks,
Graham

Hi,
recently I updated the autopack. But it is a pity that I did not see any updates with lipid bilayers. I am assuming that it is going to be hard on working on this. Hopefully we can see updates later. Thanks.
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.