Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Old 03-12-2013, 04:46 AM   #1
FXHMantis

portfolio
Alfredo Portillo Jr.
Student/Tech Support
Brentwood, USA

Question Help building or buying a new computer

Well, I'm no expert at 3D modeling. I'd probably classify myself as still a novice at the moment right now. I have the basic principles down but things like texture mapping and creating normal maps, as well as some rigging issues are still rather troublesome for me, but I'm slowly gaining the grasp of things. But my real question here is if I could get some help with the purchase of a new computer to do 3D modeling with. My focus is on character design, animation, as well as environmental design. I'm not talking about making full length feature films but just small clips for the time being. I've used 3DS Max, Daz 3D, but my particular favorites are Maya and ZBrush, and I'm currently using Maya 2012 and ZBrush 4R2.

My budget right now is between $1200 to $1500 but the real thing is that I would like to stay mobile with say a laptop of some kind but I'm not against buying a desktop computer either. I honestly plan on using my 55 Samsung 3D LED TV as my monitor if I get a desktop machine, but again, I would really like to go with a laptop of some kind as I'm constantly moving from place to place. I've used these programs on Windows Vista Pro, Windows 7 Ultimate, and Mac OSX running Moutain Lion, and so far I've had the most success with the Mac where as PCs tend to crash on me more than anything, but the Mac still dies on me too, particularly if I'm trying to render anything in Mental Ray. I've been using a Macbook Pro Core i5, which I know isn't the best, but as I said, its brought me the most luck thus far.

I live in the USA and really hope I can get some help on this. Right now, this is the laptop I've been looking at, but I'm not a big fan of Lenovo.

Lenovo Core i7