Waste site, waste disposal

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

02 February 2013
Waste site, waste disposal

Here i am working on a new waste disposal,
and i am modeling the entire site with photo refs and google map for the up view.
The render is just the VPR view, and i am using Lwcad and the DP sunky for lightwave 11.
The aim is to do a didactic animation showing the processes and treatments of wasted garbage (sorry it ain't funky stuff )
Currently in progress.
C&C are welcomed.
hope you enjoy

WIP

www.chatbada.fr

02 February 2013
I'm a beginner with 3D modeling myself, so I'm sorry if this critique isn't more helpful. The whole thing looks pretty accurate, but I would pick a different camera angle to render from. There's a lot of empty space, especially near the top and the bottom-right corner. Having a nice and balanced composition definitely helps any kind of image (drawing, photo, 3D render, etc).

Second, I would make the texture for the buildings a bit darker. Right now, everything's too white, and that makes the lighting look a bit two-dimensional. Making the buildings just a little bit darker would give you a lot more variation, as far as value goes. Right now, all of the lit areas of the building are showing up as pure white, and that's robbing the image of variety.

Anyway, that's all I can really point out. Good luck, and good job.

02 February 2013
Thanks for the feedback Kayh,

My lighting is not setted up yet, and it is overbright for the moment.
I have tuned it down a bit.
The image is just a preview from the software as i am setting up the whole site.
I still have a lot to do with the modeling (all the white is not modeled yet)

This shot is the begining of the animation (in-situ) showing the site. The waste is gonna be discontructed to show processes from the arrival of a garbage truck to the incineration process