Transferring UV and texture map between models problem...

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 02 February 2013   #1
Transferring UV and texture map between models problem...

Hi, 3D noob here, and I'm hoping some of you could help me out here? I'm in a group project, and we have a character. The rigger imported character reference model version 4 to build a rig, while the modeler continues to finish, uv, and texture the model. The rigger localized the reference model before the uv and texture were added, and pass it on to the animators to animate. The modeler didn't know that, and now we have different models of this character - 1 with final mesh, uv, and texture, and 1 with rig and animation and slightly different vertices, and no texture or uv. Is there a way to combine all of them into 1 model? Thank you!

Old 02 February 2013   #2
Given that you have a different vertices positions/count, I think your best bet will be to GATOR the enveloping from the rigged version to the finished and textured model. UVS don't transfer as well as enveloping due to the spatial methods gator uses to transfer data.

So import the finished mesh into the same scene as the rigged model, ensure it is in the same space and as close to the rigged mesh (which has to be in its default pose) as possible, and let GATOR work its magic. Then you have a rigged finished model, and just need to transfer over the animation. I hope the animators were working with a referenced model? In which case you should just be able to point the ref model to the new model source.

If the animators were working with local models, you need to plot out the animation to an action source for all the rig components, and import and apply it to the new model.

Old 02 February 2013   #3