Urgent response needed! (AO multiplication!) :hmm:

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 02 February 2013   #1
Exclamation Urgent response needed! (AO multiplication!) :hmm:

OK so I'm a university student in my final year and I've been asked by a major games company to create a little scene in 10 days which I have and they liked! Now they've asked me to texture it they said "No complex shaders" and "use AO in the textures"... Not wanting to sound stupid or unknowedgable (LOL) I said "sure!"

I am texturing using Mudbox and I know how to extract an AO pass/map, BUT... When talking about it, they said "Just multiply it"... How is AO usually done in games textures? Should I literally just multiply the pass on the texture in photoshop/mudbox and just export a flattened colour/diffuse map, or is this done with some kind of layered shader?

I have everything set up and ready to go but they are expecting the textures tomorrow night at thelatest so the sooner I know which route to take, the better!

Thank you so much in advance to anyone who can help

Old 02 February 2013   #2
Sounds like they basically want you to lay the AO map on top of your color texture in photoshop and change blend mode to multiply. It really is that simple :O

Old 02 February 2013   #3
Originally Posted by Panupat: Sounds like they basically want you to lay the AO map on top of your color texture in photoshop and change blend mode to multiply. It really is that simple :O

Ok thankyou; I'll let a few more responses roll in to confirm but thats what I thought. I also noticed there is an ambient attribute in lamber/binn etc... do you think they would prefer that over the method you just mentioned?

Old 02 February 2013   #4
Can somebody else confirm this? This is a big deal for me and need to get this right

Old 02 February 2013   #5