After Effects fringing even after properly interpreting footage

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 01 January 2013   #1
Smile After Effects fringing even after properly interpreting footage

Hi everyone.

I have rendered a sequence in Softimage with straight alpha. The image sequence is outputted in Gamma 1.0 and is an open exr. In AE project settings I have set the color settings to 32 bpc and checked the Linearize Working Space. In the interpret footage window I have set it to straight alpha and in the Color Management tab I have set the profile to Preserve RGB.

Still I am getting white fringe. Fought the whole day but couldn't fix it. I am very new to AE. Please help.

Hi I have noticed that the white fringe appears only when I re scale or rotate the footage. In it's default size it looks fine, with no fringing whatsoever.

Regards.

P.S - Sorry but I might have accidentally triple posted the same thread. The first two post I posted from IE and Firefox, weren't showing up. So I used Chrome the third time and it seemed to work. Sorry again.

Last edited by BubbaDaCaveman : 01 January 2013 at 08:22 AM. Reason: Added more information

Old 01 January 2013   #2
Try interpreting 'Premultiplied - Matted With Color' and set it to white(or whatevr color your fringe is)

Old 01 January 2013   #3
Hi. I tried that earlier and that didn't work

I have edited the first post to add the following information.

Fringing occurs only when I Scale or Rotate the object.

Also if I change the Color Settings Depth from 32 bpc to anything lower the fringing goes away but the colors from the flame goes away too and the flame turns to grayscale.

Attached an open exr from the render. Please check.
Attached Files
File Type: zip ClayLamp.zip (192.5 KB, 5 views)

Last edited by BubbaDaCaveman : 01 January 2013 at 08:35 AM.

Old 01 January 2013   #4