CGTalk > Development and Hardware > Technical and Hardware
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2013, 07:41 PM   #1
JoeRockhead
New Member
portfolio
PT
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
New desktop for Maya

So it's time to get a new desktop and start learning Maya. Trying to budget in the $1500- $2000 range. Problem I am having is finding one with a compatible video card from the Autodesk list of recommended hardware: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/syscert?siteID=123112&id=18844534

I tried to customize a workstation at Dell and they don't offer any of the recommended cards. Briefly looked at AVADirect but they were a little too expensive.

How did those of you using Maya build your computer?
 
Old 02-05-2013, 04:30 PM   #2
pringleman
New Member
portfolio
Jamie Gilbert
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 26
researching what card to use with all the varying opinions is very annoying and i just spent a week purely on that...
for my budget which could have been more I bought a refurbished 5600 1.5gb quadro. I could of got a 2gb gaming card but could have been a waste of time.

If you can afford a pro card (w5000) or one of the quadro series then get it... as I don't think it's worth the hassle over getting a game card when it comes to complex scenes .. but if you got the time and patience to buy a gaming card do so.

The fire pro and Quadro series are pretty much all certified with maya. If your working with large data sets, textures then go for the more ram models...
 
Old 02-05-2013, 06:21 PM   #3
CKPinson
Expert
 
CKPinson's Avatar
portfolio
CK Pinson
Network ADMIN
Govt
West Palm Beach, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,944
Send a message via MSN to CKPinson
It's worth weighing the opinions and time it takes because there are definitely cards that are complete crap with Maya
__________________
CK Pinson
 
Old 02-06-2013, 03:17 PM   #4
tswalk
Lord of the posts
 
tswalk's Avatar
portfolio
Troy Walker
USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 708
i have the lowest supported, a GTX 560 with 2GB ram... and maya works just fine with it. IPR is terrible, but does work.. and it only cost me 74$.
__________________
-- LinkedIn Profile --
-- Blog --
-- Portfolio --
 
Old 02-06-2013, 03:17 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.