CGTalk > General Techniques > Lighting and Shaders
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-25-2013, 08:44 AM   #1
nfrancisj
vfx rulezz!!!
 
nfrancisj's Avatar
portfolio
Nicholas Joseph
Compositor
Dreamspark
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to nfrancisj
shadow color mismatch with Gi

Hello everyone,

I've been trying to get the correct shadow color out of the framebuffer and into Nuke but I haven't had much luck. I setup a simple scene. A teapot, a ground plane, with a sphere light and a dome light. The sphere light is casting the shadow seen in the image below, and the dome light is adding a bluish tint to the scene which is giving the shadow a bluish tint.

The top image is straight from the full render (not comp) and is correct. The second image is the Nuke comp render which shows no bluish tint to the shadow. This is not correct. The shadow pass doesn't contain any colors.

The third image is the vray setting I used to get the shadow pass. The teapot is set "Visible to Camera" to off.

Does anyone have ideas or solutions that I can try to get a correct shadow pass??

Thanks.

__________________
--N!K--
 
Old 02-12-2013, 01:37 AM   #2
Druski
New Member
3D Animator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to Druski
You could render out a vray "MatteShadow" render element which includes the colour information for your shadow and GI spill/colourbleed (if using GI). Then invert the MatteShadow element in nuke and merge it over your background using a multiply. This will give you the result your after and should perfectly match your beauty render.
 
Old 02-12-2013, 01:46 PM   #3
kanooshka
Lighting Enthusiast
 
kanooshka's Avatar
portfolio
Dan Konieczka
Technical Director
Hartford,
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 933
Are you using a linear workflow? You have to apply the monitors gamma, 2.2, after adding the layers together for it to be accurate.

-Dan
 
Old 02-12-2013, 06:47 PM   #4
LowJacK
Frequenter
portfolio
LowJacK
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 244
Render an indirect pass.
 
Old 02-13-2013, 12:43 AM   #5
nfrancisj
vfx rulezz!!!
 
nfrancisj's Avatar
portfolio
Nicholas Joseph
Compositor
Dreamspark
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to nfrancisj
Thanks for your responses.

@Druski: I believe the matte shadow that gets rendered is not the same as whats represented in render. It seems the gradient/falloff on the matte shadow is more opaque. The shadow rendered has a nice smooth falloff. I will check again to make sure again when I get home tonight.

@kanooshka : I rendered it out of vray with Linear and 2.2 gamma. The final output from nuke (comped) matches the input render.

@LowJack : The GI pass is the Indirect pass is it not? I don't remember seeing a indirect element, but I will check again tonight.


A friend of mine spoke to the Vray guys about this issue and they said that currently Vray doesn't support the calculation of Gi with the shadow pass. Meaning when it renders the shadow, it will calculate it as an element of the lighting pass which doesn't include Gi.

What I am able to do to solve this issue is grade the color from black to bluish to match. Its not accurate but no one noticed.

I did think of another idea. I could take the shadow pass and subtract it from the lighting pass then add that to the Gi. I'll give it a try and let you guys know if that works.

Thanks again and if you have ideas I am will to test it.
__________________
--N!K--
 
Old 02-13-2013, 12:51 AM   #6
kanooshka
Lighting Enthusiast
 
kanooshka's Avatar
portfolio
Dan Konieczka
Technical Director
Hartford,
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 933
Do the output passes have the 2.2 gamma already applied before you bring them into Nuke? To composite the layers you can't apply the 2.2 gamma until you add each pass together in comp.
 
Old 02-13-2013, 02:29 AM   #7
nfrancisj
vfx rulezz!!!
 
nfrancisj's Avatar
portfolio
Nicholas Joseph
Compositor
Dreamspark
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to nfrancisj
The output from 3dsmax is Linear. The input into Nuke is Linear. When I render out of Nuke, I render in srgb space. So....the 2.2 is added at the very end.

Thanks
__________________
--N!K--
 
Old 02-13-2013, 11:51 PM   #8
CHRiTTeR
On the run!
 
CHRiTTeR's Avatar
Chris
Graphic designer extraordinaire
Belgium
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4,365
Its parobably not a bad idea to post this on the chaos group forums
 
Old 02-15-2013, 04:08 AM   #9
nfrancisj
vfx rulezz!!!
 
nfrancisj's Avatar
portfolio
Nicholas Joseph
Compositor
Dreamspark
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to nfrancisj
Unfortunately my Chaos Group account doesn't allow for posting messages in the forums
I can only read. :(
__________________
--N!K--
 
Old 02-15-2013, 04:08 AM   #10
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.