Animation for Games

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 01 January 2013   #1
Animation for Games

Hi, I am a final year student studying Computer Games Design in university and I am in the process of doing my final year project which focuses on rigging games characters with different types of rigs and finding out which rigs are best compatible over multiple games engines.

This project isn't focusing on rigging although it feels as if it is going that way :P but I am mostly going to focus on animation techniques for character game play animations.

I am looking to be using 3DS Max to test a biped rig and a CAT rig. Maya is going to be used to create a new custom bone skeleton. The skinning is going to be done according to what 3DS Max and Maya have to offer and I am going to be trying autoweight also (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9H-QFXg_Bo).

When it comes to the animation I am looking to make a range of anim sets that will work in UDK and Unity on each of the skeletons. I will be looking to see if the animations can be transfered between each skeleton instead of making a whole new set of animations for each one. Also depending on what time I have when it gets to making the animations work in the games engines I will hopefully have a character working in a game environment with all the animations.

Right now I have experience using all three of the different rigs mentioned, but not allot of experience really so I am hoping for some feedback and tips to help me with the rigs if anyone has any useful information. I am also going to be making a full facial rig for the first time which I have some tutorials for.

I have also got a little bit of experience with game animations also but I still think I am very amateur at it and this project is going to be were I improve on my techniques the most (hopefully).