Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 11-11-2012, 01:44 AM   #1
joeraynor
portfolio
d
d, USA

Shoulder rigging question

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D62Xy7BWxRs

The youtube link is a shoulder rigging demonstartion someone has made and posted.

I think you can easily surmise that I am interested in this video because shoulder rigging is diifcult to me, lol; I very much admire the clean action and deformtion of this person's rigging, and would like to implement similar concepts (I am a novice at rigging myself, and only understand the basics.)

So if anyone could help me interpret what this rig is doing, I would be grateful!

1) do you guys think that this rig is employing shape keys (why, why not)

2) What are the cyan and yellow clusters of bones around the biceps, and what might they be doing?

3) why is the clavicle divided into two bones?

4) what are the bones parented to the spine that are around the outer ribs doing?

5) what constraint or technique do they employ to get the bones to align with that red icon?

6)why are the deformations so clean? when I have built similar rigs, I get pinching on the top of the shoulder, and big bulges under the arms under similar extensions.

If anyone could answer some of these questions, or perhaps interpret what is going on here best as they may, I would be grateful!

I would also be helpful if anyone could point out materials which focus on the problems of the shoulder and clavicle in blender!

Last edited by joeraynor : 11-11-2012 at 02:08 AM.

Old 11-12-2012, 09:48 PM   #2
KielFiggins
Setting Keys

portfolio
Kiel Figgins
Senior Animator
Framestore
London, United Kingdom

Shoulders are tough regardless of the package used. This solution in the video looks pretty solid, but without wireframes, it's difficult to gauge the integrability.

1) I don't think it's using corrective shapes, the sheer number of joints makes it look like it showcasing skinning