CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > NewTek Lightwave 3D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Old 12-05-2003, 07:42 AM   #1
shirudo
Veteran
gardener\landscaping

Lightbulb let's put the manual in order

I'm new to lightwave ,cgi and computers in general for that matter .And although I'm slowly but surely learning the ropes of 3d modeling I'm finding the answeres to the kinds of questions I have to be unneccisarily difficult to find (in the manual) for example let's say I opened modeler created an object then created another object and wanted to move it, shape it or delete it or whatever independantly from the first thing I created .how could I reselect the first element I created or join them together I feel this information should all be stated clearly in the first section on modeling but since it isn't any help I can get in regard to understanding the manual and reading it in the order it should have been written in would help alot

Old 12-05-2003, 06:01 PM   #2
leigh
blahblah

CGSociety Staff
portfolio
Leigh van der Byl
A cog in the wheel
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom

It sounds to me like you need a crash course in the very basics of 3D. Unfortunately LW's manual is written at a more intermediate level.

I recommend looking for some tutorials online that will help you to become oriented with basic 3D principles.

Old 12-05-2003, 09:26 PM   #3
SplineGod
Have LW, will travel.....

3D Modeler/Animator

Send a message via ICQ to SplineGod Send a message via AIM to SplineGod
Re: let's put the manual in order

Depending on your point of view thats very true.
The manual as it stands is a pretty good reference but not great for tutorials. Its also already quite huge and mine destroys itself a little bit more each time I open it.