CGTalk > Main > News
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-15-2012, 01:32 AM   #1
fezz
Render slave
 
fezz's Avatar
portfolio
Michael Fessenden
Pipeline TD, Mr. X
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 254
Send a message via AIM to fezz
Renderman for Maya combined with Renderman Studio 4.0

Good news for RfM users, the low-end Maya product is now merged into the upcoming Renderman Studio 4.0 with a huge price drop. New seats of RMS are $1300, existing RfM users can upgrade to the current Studio for only $300:

Renderman Studio 4.0
 
Old 06-15-2012, 04:09 AM   #2
Als
Expert
portfolio
Aleksandar Stiglic
digital artist, 3D
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,922
__________________
"No Bucks, NO Buck Rogers!"

VFX rule no. 387
# Just redo it!

 
Old 06-15-2012, 06:10 AM   #3
ashrafazlan
Frequenter
 
ashrafazlan's Avatar
portfolio
Ashraf Bin Azlan
Kepala batas, Malaysia
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 145
Good news!

Will existing Renderman for Maya users be able to directly upgrade to RMS 4.0 or do we have only get RMS 3.0?
 
Old 06-15-2012, 12:00 PM   #4
nimajneb
Frequenter
 
nimajneb's Avatar
Benjamin A. Slack
Artist / Animator
nimajneb.com
Kalamazoo, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 230
Very good news. Thanks for this update.
__________________
---
"I am a leaf on the wind..." -Wash
 
Old 06-15-2012, 12:19 PM   #5
Cabraswel
Scout
portfolio
Val Roca
Providence, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
The e-mail also mentioned that existing RMS customers will receive a free license of RPS. I'm excited to try out Lumiere even if we are getting progressive rendering with RMS.
 
Old 06-15-2012, 01:47 PM   #6
SebKaine
Expert
 
SebKaine's Avatar
portfolio
Emmanuel Mouillet
Fx Artist
Freelance
Paris, FR
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,001
Thats a very good news, but to me it happen 3 years too late ...
Pixar has always keep his product on a high end level. But in 2012 things are really not the same.

- Prman is use by the big boys who have their own translator to maya so studio is useless for them
- Small shop that use to buy RMS are now massively switching to v-ray cause to render packshot , car or parfum its really easier and faster to do it in V-ray

And things will also evolve in big shops as now the new Moto in big studio is Physiclly plausible Workflow, now the big boys try to transform a REYES native workflow base on Cheats and Bakes to a pure Raytrace Workflow ... But they realise that rendertime are really crazy when you ask to prman to do something he was not devised to do at the beginning !

Now i'm afraid that V-ray would be my first choice for 1300$ in a small place so this price drop arrive really to late ... Anyway this is a good news for small studio who are doing lot of character work but for the rest .... i don't know !

edit :
if Pixar implement the ability to read GI file from Maxwell or V-Ray and convert them in .ptc very quickly , i buy my RMS license tomorrow cause to be honest Renderman is still my secret fav
__________________
emfx.fr

Last edited by SebKaine : 06-15-2012 at 02:00 PM.
 
Old 06-15-2012, 05:11 PM   #7
leif3d
Solving 9999 things a day
 
leif3d's Avatar
portfolio
Leif Pedersen
RenderMan Specialist
Pixar
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,913
PT based workflows are still there and they are able to do physically plausible shading as well. You can use a raytracing only Prman pipeline as well and render times are very competitive with other raytracers, especially when you factor in all the displacement and MB advantages.
__________________
LEIF3D.com
 
Old 06-16-2012, 09:27 AM   #8
SebKaine
Expert
 
SebKaine's Avatar
portfolio
Emmanuel Mouillet
Fx Artist
Freelance
Paris, FR
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,001
You're Right Leif, you can definitly achieve your goals and better with pt base workflow. But the idea is that now big studio want full raytrace workflow, 1 or 2 years ago deep shadow were the way to go, but now they want to go to the full raytrace shadow way. And in a big shot with glossy , sss , and refraction if you choose to avoid the good old deep shadow workflow and choose to rely on full raytrace, you go from 1h per frame to 10-20h per frame ... so you really put your farm on the knees ! I don't know Arnold but those shot could have been render in 1 hour with the same quality in V-ray (without motion blur ... ). But again Renderman offer a set of feature and customization that you can't find in other popular engine. SL and RIBgen are still gold for big production, and i still find that prman is far better than v-ray for those big companies that have tons of shader writer ...

But at 1300$ pixar really sell his product at the good price and its a really nice offer and while i'm writing those line i'm wondering if i will not ask a license for christmas ... cause even if V-ray is so cool the power of shader writing and the fun you have in slim is a far better experience than the hyperslowshade in maya ...
__________________
emfx.fr
 
Old 06-16-2012, 10:21 AM   #9
TheRazorsEdge
detail freak
 
TheRazorsEdge's Avatar
portfolio
Felix Lahme
Essen, Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,081
That's really great news!

Do I understand the news in the Pixar Email to customers and on the website correctly that you can update your RFM now for $300 to Studio 3 and will get Studio 4 update at no additional charge once released?

Cheers!
__________________
"Knowing is not enough, we must apply. Willing is not enough, we must do."-Bruce Lee


 
Old 06-17-2012, 09:00 PM   #10
mustique
Expert
copywriter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,017
Quote:
Originally Posted by SebKaine
Thats a very good news, but to me it happen 3 years too late ...
Pixar has always keep his product on a high end level. But in 2012 things are really not the same... )


Agree. Renderman hasn't been able to bring on a new renderboy. It will still serve greatly for demanding film production work in big studios. For everyone else, vray and maxwell type renderers make much more sense. On top of that, game engines are starting to become very interesting for realtime production. Pixar should have taken the gpu more serious imo.
__________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex & more violent..." Einstein
 
Old 06-18-2012, 01:41 PM   #11
republicavfx
Expert
 
republicavfx's Avatar
portfolio
Scott Turner
Generalist/ Coordinador Animación 3D, Instituto Arcos
Vina Del Mar, Chile
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 650
i use rms and love it...they need to move intereractive lighting to a one license model tho... i agree that vray makes things beatiful easily tho..but seems slow to me after renderman..maybe i need more cores...lol ....plus add hair and particles and theres no reason to switch....if only they could add a rasterizer mode lol
__________________
Scott Turner
http://www.republicavfx.com
 
Old 06-18-2012, 02:22 PM   #12
leif3d
Solving 9999 things a day
 
leif3d's Avatar
portfolio
Leif Pedersen
RenderMan Specialist
Pixar
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade33ru
i use rms and love it...they need to move intereractive lighting to a one license model tho... i agree that vray makes things beatiful easily tho..but seems slow to me after renderman..maybe i need more cores...lol ....plus add hair and particles and theres no reason to switch....if only they could add a rasterizer mode lol


You'll like RMS4 then. Relighting is included (raytracing-only mode as well to avoid caches) and you get Slim too.
__________________
LEIF3D.com
 
Old 06-18-2012, 05:54 PM   #13
republicavfx
Expert
 
republicavfx's Avatar
portfolio
Scott Turner
Generalist/ Coordinador Animación 3D, Instituto Arcos
Vina Del Mar, Chile
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by leif3d
You'll like RMS4 then. Relighting is included (raytracing-only mode as well to avoid caches) and you get Slim too.


ahhh ...should have read the press release. this looks awesome
__________________
Scott Turner
http://www.republicavfx.com
 
Old 10-05-2012, 05:57 AM   #14
tonytrout
Expert
 
tonytrout's Avatar
tony
Light Equations
New Zealand
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 399
Looks like RMS 4 is out.
__________________

 
Old 10-05-2012, 05:57 AM   #15
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.