CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Dynamics
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2013, 06:58 PM   #46
Duncan
Expert
 
Duncan's Avatar
Duncan Brinsmead
Principal Scientist
Autodesk
Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,984
Yes. Instead of connecting and disconnecting the particle array attr from the inputAttractPerVertex, you could connect to strengthPerVertex on the nComponent node.

I think it may still have the same problem as inputAttract with a DG loop (but I've not tested it), so you would probably still have to connect then disconnect the attribute inside a normal (non-particle) expression to copy the array values. (rather than simply connecting once)
 
Old 12-13-2013, 09:30 AM   #47
HowardM
Digital Ho
 
HowardM's Avatar
--------------------->
FX TD
a large dark room . . . . ... . .. ...with bright monitors
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,071
Cheers! I had tried something like that but it didnt seem to work. Will try again.

This is definitely something that should be documented and/or included as a feature.

Opens up a lot of control.
__________________

.

Reel - 3DInk.com
Filmography -IMDB
R&D - VIMEO

*please read- cyanbsl.blogspot.com/*
 
Old 12-14-2013, 09:18 PM   #48
HowardM
Digital Ho
 
HowardM's Avatar
--------------------->
FX TD
a large dark room . . . . ... . .. ...with bright monitors
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,071
I cant seem to connect things correctly.

Do you mind explaining the process with nconstraints please?
I tried replacing nComponent2.glueStrengthMap or .strengthPerVertex where appropriate but I cant get it to work.

Thanks as always!
__________________

.

Reel - 3DInk.com
Filmography -IMDB
R&D - VIMEO

*please read- cyanbsl.blogspot.com/*
 
Old 12-16-2013, 11:03 PM   #49
Duncan
Expert
 
Duncan's Avatar
Duncan Brinsmead
Principal Scientist
Autodesk
Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,984
It is pretty much the same process when using a constraint, although in a quick test( attached) I found I didn't need to do the connect/disconnect expression. One doesn't seem to to have a dg loop problem when using the constraint. The one added step you may be missing is to set the maptype (like glueStrengthMapType) to Per-Vertex.

In the attached file I created a plane, made it cloth, did a tearable constraint following by transform constraint on two corner vertices. I created a volume axis field assigned to the cloth and added a per particle (array) attribute to the cloth called "glue". I then created a particle creation and runtime expression for the cloth as described in that previous workflow. On the nComponent for the tearable constraint I made glueStrengthMapType per-vertex, then did:

connectAttr nClothShape1.glue nComponent1.glueStrengthPerVertex

It seemed to work fine. Where the volume force intersects the cloth it breaks the glue bonds.
Attached Files
File Type: zip nConstraintExpressionControl.zip (11.5 KB, 44 views)
 
Old 12-16-2013, 11:17 PM   #50
HowardM
Digital Ho
 
HowardM's Avatar
--------------------->
FX TD
a large dark room . . . . ... . .. ...with bright monitors
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,071
Talking

You are a GOD!

haha... seriously thanks so much!

This really opens up a lot of possibilities.
__________________

.

Reel - 3DInk.com
Filmography -IMDB
R&D - VIMEO

*please read- cyanbsl.blogspot.com/*
 
Old 12-16-2013, 11:51 PM   #51
HowardM
Digital Ho
 
HowardM's Avatar
--------------------->
FX TD
a large dark room . . . . ... . .. ...with bright monitors
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,071
Will have a go at work tomorrow, but a quick test, I couldnt get multiple fields working.

What is the secret there?

Also, tried playing with Trap Radius to fake Attenuation (since Attenuation didnt really work) but no dice... will play around tomorrow.

Would be great to have multiple trigger fields and a nice soft gradient instead of just the edge of the field acting as the trigger.

Cheers!
__________________

.

Reel - 3DInk.com
Filmography -IMDB
R&D - VIMEO

*please read- cyanbsl.blogspot.com/*
 
Old 12-17-2013, 12:35 AM   #52
Duncan
Expert
 
Duncan's Avatar
Duncan Brinsmead
Principal Scientist
Autodesk
Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,984
In the expression I just looked at the first component of the first force assigned the cloth. If you assigned a second force then it will be inputForce[1]. The following is more correct in using the force magnitude, (as opposed to just the x value):
// two forces assigned the cloth
vector $f1 = nClothShape1.inputForce[0];
vector $f2 = nClothShape1.inputForce[1];
if( mag($f1) > 0.1 || mag($f2) > 0.1){
nClothShape1.glue = 0;
}

If you want to make the glue weaker where the magnitude of the force is greater than you could perhaps do something like:

nClothShape1.glue = 1.0- mag($f1)/(1+mag($f1)); // 1.0 at zero force 0.0 at infinite force

In both cases attenuation will have an effect. With the original it would not make much difference because even with attenuation the value is still not zero(but very small) everywhere inside the container.
 
Old 12-17-2013, 11:20 AM   #53
HowardM
Digital Ho
 
HowardM's Avatar
--------------------->
FX TD
a large dark room . . . . ... . .. ...with bright monitors
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,071
Cheers Cheers Cheers!

But the last bit does not work. When I plug it in, does nothing. No matter how much force applied.

I played with Axis Magnitude to fake Attenuation... I think it works. Again, seems to me if I use ANY attenuation, the effect does not work at all.

What also seems cool, is I think Turbulence is working, so you can have different bits within the field break at different times... I think
__________________

.

Reel - 3DInk.com
Filmography -IMDB
R&D - VIMEO

*please read- cyanbsl.blogspot.com/*
 
Old 12-17-2013, 09:28 PM   #54
Duncan
Expert
 
Duncan's Avatar
Duncan Brinsmead
Principal Scientist
Autodesk
Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,984
It all works ok for me... attenuation too. (maya2014 sp1)
If you post a file I can take a look.
 
Old 12-18-2013, 07:57 AM   #55
TheRazorsEdge
detail freak
 
TheRazorsEdge's Avatar
portfolio
Felix Lahme
Essen, Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,058
Wow, seriously informative thread! Thanks to everyone, particularly Duncan for contributing that much extremely valuable info and sample scenes. Subscribed!

Cheers!
__________________
"Knowing is not enough, we must apply. Willing is not enough, we must do."-Bruce Lee


 
Old 12-18-2013, 02:19 PM   #56
HowardM
Digital Ho
 
HowardM's Avatar
--------------------->
FX TD
a large dark room . . . . ... . .. ...with bright monitors
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,071
Cheers Duncan.

Here is a scene with Attenuation, but we are on Service Pack 03 P01 here, so is that the problem? If you turn off Attenuation, it works.

Cheers 100000x!
Attached Files
File Type: zip Downloads.zip (26.2 KB, 30 views)
__________________

.

Reel - 3DInk.com
Filmography -IMDB
R&D - VIMEO

*please read- cyanbsl.blogspot.com/*

Last edited by HowardM : 01-07-2014 at 05:21 PM.
 
Old 12-18-2013, 02:55 PM   #57
HowardM
Digital Ho
 
HowardM's Avatar
--------------------->
FX TD
a large dark room . . . . ... . .. ...with bright monitors
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,071
Just discovered something buggy, or perhaps it has to do with the creation part?

If you save a scene somewhere besides frame 1, and reload it, Attenuation doesnt work correctly. If you go back to frame 1 and resave, reload, everything works fine.
__________________

.

Reel - 3DInk.com
Filmography -IMDB
R&D - VIMEO

*please read- cyanbsl.blogspot.com/*

Last edited by HowardM : 01-07-2014 at 05:20 PM.
 
Old 11-11-2014, 11:35 AM   #58
HowardM
Digital Ho
 
HowardM's Avatar
--------------------->
FX TD
a large dark room . . . . ... . .. ...with bright monitors
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,071
Bumping this before it closes!
__________________

.

Reel - 3DInk.com
Filmography -IMDB
R&D - VIMEO

*please read- cyanbsl.blogspot.com/*
 
Old 05-31-2015, 10:14 PM   #59
Falam
Expert
 
Falam's Avatar
portfolio
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 784
Would you texture the wall in which the wall-paper is obviously on, or would you texture the nCloth mesh ? Couldn't you make the cloth stiff, for example also, if you wanted to make holes in the wall-paper, using a sphere or some irregular object ?

The method Duncan laid out, no I didn't read every post The wall-paper is peeling somewhat naturally ?

I want to do a similar effect, except only still.
__________________
FEAR - False Emotions Appearing Real
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.