CGTalk > Technical > Technical and Hardware
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-13-2012, 08:36 PM   #31
graphicos
New Member
 
graphicos's Avatar
portfolio
Cosmin Horatiu Halmagean
graphician
proamen
Arad, Romania
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 14
GTX vs Quadro

Thanks guys for replies !

I used a quadro fx 570 at 256 MB for working in a cad software somekind of 3d city ,
the modeling was ok like everything in working spacebut when I want to render scene it stucked !
I cant render the scene ! the CPU was an intel dual core.

Anyway, Im a quadro fun but my friends says it is expensive for jts performance.

can you tell me wich processor and mother board fit good with nvidia quadro 2000 ?

I have this build in mind :

-intel core i7 3820 at 3.6 ghz
- Asus P9X79 socket 2011 or Gigabyte GA -X79- UP4 socket 2011
-nvidia quadro 2000 D from PNY
-2 x 16 GB DDR 3 1600 Mhz Corsair
-2TB hard drive -Seagate 7200 baracuda
-SSD -120 GB intel 330 sata III
-case - antec or thermaltake ?
-power suply - evermax or thermaltake ?
__________________
Genius bravo !
 
Old 12-13-2012, 11:01 PM   #32
CKPinson
Expert
 
CKPinson's Avatar
portfolio
CK Pinson
Network ADMIN
Govt
West Palm Beach, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,957
Send a message via MSN to CKPinson
here's another analogy for u...
You can move your belongings in a Ferrari and probably even do it... That is right up until u get to the big stuff which you either can't move effectively or at all but with a nice moving van youll be able to handle those large loads and still make good time. In fact in the long run make better time.

As for render speed u may need more cores/more CPU speed.

Just go with the best quadro and CPU u can afford. Don't know specs on 2000 but aim for 256 buswidth if possible and at least 1gb size. Gpu can always be upgraded
__________________
CK Pinson
 
Old 12-14-2012, 10:10 AM   #33
graphicos
New Member
 
graphicos's Avatar
portfolio
Cosmin Horatiu Halmagean
graphician
proamen
Arad, Romania
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 14
Thanks CKPinson for replie !
Indeed its ok to let space for upgrades !
As for more CPU cores and Quadro buswidt (256 ) I agree ! I will buy CPU and video card
as best I afford !
__________________
Genius bravo !

Last edited by graphicos : 12-14-2012 at 10:19 AM.
 
Old 12-14-2012, 04:04 PM   #34
CKPinson
Expert
 
CKPinson's Avatar
portfolio
CK Pinson
Network ADMIN
Govt
West Palm Beach, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,957
Send a message via MSN to CKPinson
Newegg has some deals on the Sandybridge chips- Haven't researched them too too much but I doubt aside from improved energy usage and video performance they're better- and those things don't matter for you.

at least quadcore- and at least over 3.0 GHZ even if with turbo boost.
__________________
CK Pinson
 
Old 12-14-2012, 08:13 PM   #35
graphicos
New Member
 
graphicos's Avatar
portfolio
Cosmin Horatiu Halmagean
graphician
proamen
Arad, Romania
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 14
what about a xeon E5-2600 instead Core i7 ?
__________________
Genius bravo !
 
Old 12-14-2012, 10:07 PM   #36
graphicos
New Member
 
graphicos's Avatar
portfolio
Cosmin Horatiu Halmagean
graphician
proamen
Arad, Romania
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 14
why animation studious works with 2 video cards ,for example: NVIDIA Quadro 6000 (6 GB) and
NVIDIA Tesla C2075 6 GB PCIE ?
__________________
Genius bravo !
 
Old 12-14-2012, 10:20 PM   #37
AJ1
User
 
AJ1's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
A J
Indiana, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,810
The Tesla cards work well with iRay.

Go for the dual 2600 series chips if you can afford them. Anything from the 2650 on up will offer more rendering performance than the i7 6 core. If your just building a single socket system, go for the i7.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews...iew,3149-8.html

-AJ
__________________
 
Old 12-15-2012, 04:54 PM   #38
CKPinson
Expert
 
CKPinson's Avatar
portfolio
CK Pinson
Network ADMIN
Govt
West Palm Beach, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,957
Send a message via MSN to CKPinson
at its cheapest the 6000 runs $3k
__________________
CK Pinson
 
Old 12-15-2012, 04:54 PM   #39
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.