CGTalk > Techniques > Modeling
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-21-2013, 10:28 PM   #1
DarkEdge
My Mind Is A Wasteland
 
DarkEdge's Avatar
portfolio
Ray Phelps
Fallbrook, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 641
Question About High and Low Poly Meshes for Baking...

I am still unsure if there is a specific relationship between a high and low poly mesh for baking purposes...so let me ask this general question and hopefully you can answer and assist.

Let's say I have a high poly mesh that is quite dense and has been sub-divided and sculpted in Zbrush, what would be the proper way to make a low poly mesh of this? Could I take the high poly mesh into say Max and create a brand new simple geometry that surrounds and closely mimics the form of the high poly Zbrush mesh and use that for low poly baking?
__________________
Committed to excellence through art.
DarkEdgeDesign.com
 
Old 07-22-2013, 06:53 AM   #2
DRazvan
New Member
portfolio
Romania
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
My guess is yes you can. You use the freeform graphite modeling tools to retopo that high poly mesh you imported from zbrush directly on top of its surface .
 
Old 07-23-2013, 03:01 AM   #3
Psyk0
Freelance chacha teacher
 
Psyk0's Avatar
portfolio
Patrick Boisvert
3D / 2D Artist
Soldak Entertainment
Quebec, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,442
Send a message via MSN to Psyk0
There is a specific relationship, the low has to "snap" pretty close to the high poly.
You can do this in zbrush, plus there's an auto remeshing plugin in the new version that gives pretty good results. You can use Max graphite tools or a plugin called wrapit (and other free plugins too).
__________________
 
Old 08-10-2013, 03:04 AM   #4
pollos
2∞&→
 
pollos's Avatar
portfolio
Tomm
3D Modeler
ToonBox Entertainment
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 398
Yes, the low poly should be a simple mesh that takes the rough form of your model. There are a lot of good retopology tools to choose from but I can definitely recommend the new retopo features in Maya 2014.
 
Old 08-10-2013, 03:04 AM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.