CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-05-2013, 11:45 PM   #46
AdamT
oh ... what?
 
AdamT's Avatar
Adam Trachtenberg
Modeler, Animator, Attorney
3D Anvil
Miami, USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 10,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhoenixCG
Neil, the interface seems cluttered but it's all fully customizable trays with tools in them. Once you learn what you need and what you don't you can dump the other stuff clearing up the UI. It's all gonna work out once you get over the intimidation of seeing all those tools everywhere, everyone does.


The other thing is, if you're only concerned with modeling, as opposed to painting or 2.5D painting, you really only need a fraction of the tools that in there.
 
Old 04-06-2013, 03:17 AM   #47
Andy1010
Expert
 
Andy1010's Avatar
portfolio
Andy Blondin
Art Director
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 393
I've grown to appreciate C4D modeling tools set. One thing that bugs me to no end is not being able to select thru parent objects, such as hypernurbs, or symmetry objects. I'd rather see these as tags. I like Maya a Modo quick key to just select any poly and toggle the sub-d's.

I'm surprised no one mentioned Max's modeling. Very powerful modifiers, pattern selections, ect.

I also loved Silo's customizable nature to build so many commands into the mouse. For a modeler this is really important and I miss those features.
 
Old 04-06-2013, 04:23 AM   #48
fluffouille
Booh
 
fluffouille's Avatar
Sébastien Florand
Fluffy4D
Durham, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,669
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy1010
One thing that bugs me to no end is not being able to select thru parent objects, such as hypernurbs, or symmetry objects..

These are generator object, so in essence you select the new geometry.
But I agree, I'd love to have at least the Hypernurbs as a tag or object property.
__________________
One on one Online Instructor for Cinema4D | Visit www.Fluffy4D.com for more info.
 
Old 04-06-2013, 11:52 AM   #49
Anadin
Will work for food...
Andrei Nadin
Australia
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 509
You can press Q to toggle the hypernurbs on and off also, I use the command/ctrl+right click same as Photoshop layers which is quite good
__________________
Cinema R15, MacOS X 10.9, iMac & MacBook Pro
www.sector3.com.au
www.3sprockets.com
www.trickstargames.com
 
Old 04-06-2013, 12:55 PM   #50
Decade
Expert
 
Decade's Avatar
Graeme McDougall
London, GB
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 736
I think in some cases the shift + right click selection list will reveal the child mesh too, though not for all objects.
__________________
Cinema 4D R17 Studio, VRAYforC4D, Z Brush, Mudbox, Photoshop CS6.
 
Old 04-06-2013, 02:39 PM   #51
Neil V
Expert
Neil John Vaughan
Creative Director
ENVY
Worcester, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 752
Thanks PhoenixCG. I looked at the interface and thought 'jeez, where do I start?' but then most software of any complexity is like that anyway. I remember taking a look at Maya and feeling the same way. Having said that, it's not just the amount of tools within ZBrush; I find the workflow a bit errr... 'odd'. I can't put my finger on it. Just different I suppose. Intimidation is the right word so I just need to bite the bullet, knuckle down and spend a weekend getting accustomed to it. I'm usre i will come back soon and be singing its praises. I hope ;o)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhoenixCG
Neil, the interface seems cluttered but it's all fully customizable trays with tools in them. Once you learn what you need and what you don't you can dump the other stuff clearing up the UI. It's all gonna work out once you get over the intimidation of seeing all those tools everywhere, everyone does.
 
Old 04-06-2013, 02:41 PM   #52
Neil V
Expert
Neil John Vaughan
Creative Director
ENVY
Worcester, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 752
To be honest, it's the painting I'm interested in too so I'm aware I have a lot of tools to learn. But hey, learning is fun. If it wasn't I'd be a traffic warden.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamT
The other thing is, if you're only concerned with modeling, as opposed to painting or 2.5D painting, you really only need a fraction of the tools that in there.
 
Old 04-06-2013, 02:41 PM   #53
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.