CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max > Particle Flow
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-22-2006, 05:51 PM   #1
deliciousnine
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Facing Particles problem

I cant seem to map a bitmap onto a facing particle in max 8.. i tried using particle view but it only showed it in the viewport and not in the render.. now i'm usin a particle array and its still happening.. i've done it before in max 7 and i have no idea what i'm doing wrong!

i cant seem to apply any sort of mapping co-ordinates in either tool.. i'm using a standard material with a bmp in diffuse..

is it blaringly obvious?
can anyone help?
 
Old 06-25-2006, 10:37 PM   #2
vancliff
Expert
portfolio
Ivan Agustin Pedraza Peluffo
Barranquilla, Colombia
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 375
Send a message via MSN to vancliff Send a message via Yahoo to vancliff
Talking Facing particle

You can use a standard material but need to select face map, to see the effect in the rendering. The size of your facing particle also plays a role in the rendering process to being seen.

Last edited by vancliff : 06-25-2006 at 10:44 PM.
 
Old 07-09-2006, 03:05 PM   #3
deliciousnine
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3
of course!

doh!
 
Old 07-16-2006, 05:19 PM   #4
supremepizza
3Dude/Goin with the PFlow
 
supremepizza's Avatar
portfolio
William (Bill) Rickert
Web Master
Freelance
Granite City, USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by deliciousnine
I cant seem to map a bitmap onto a facing particle in max 8.. i tried using particle view but it only showed it in the viewport and not in the render.. now i'm usin a particle array and its still happening.. i've done it before in max 7 and i have no idea what i'm doing wrong!

i cant seem to apply any sort of mapping co-ordinates in either tool.. i'm using a standard material with a bmp in diffuse..

is it blaringly obvious?
can anyone help?


Shape facing operator within PFlow. Choose align to camera and don't forget to change cameras when rendering from a different one.
 
Old 07-16-2006, 05:19 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.