CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-13-2013, 07:00 PM   #16
EricM
Expert
Eric Marodon
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,236
Render in png, opens fine with transparency in PS etC... no need for separate pass or whatever. Unlike TIFF...

By the way, PNG is a compressed but lossless format too.
 
Old 05-13-2013, 07:32 PM   #17
gdogfunk
Expert
 
gdogfunk's Avatar
Ryan Mininger
Orange Peel Productions, Inc.
Toledo, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horganovski
I'm still using AE 5.5 though and have no major incentive to upgrade, especially with the new subscription model.


OT: AE 5.5 was great and still had MotionMath. I used to use Trapcode SoundKeys to extract audio data, convert to keyframes with MotionMath and export the spreadsheet data into Electric Image and apply the data to objects for easy syncing of animation. I miss those days and haven't really tried the same thing in C4D yet.
 
Old 05-13-2013, 07:43 PM   #18
Horganovski
Freelance Animator/Rigger
 
Horganovski's Avatar
portfolio
Brian Horgan
Graphite9
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,877
Oops, I should have said AE CS5.5, I guess the version you are talking about is much older?

Regarding PNG, my understanding (possibly incorrect as this is a new area for me) was that it's best to work with formats like TIFF or EXR when compositing as they support 32 bit images? I didn't think PNG would suit but I could be wrong. I'm still getting a handle on working in LWF between the CG apps and AE (a bit clunky in Mental Ray but it works, I've not really tried it in Cinema yet).

Cheers,
Brian

Last edited by Horganovski : 05-13-2013 at 07:46 PM.
 
Old 05-13-2013, 08:07 PM   #19
EricM
Expert
Eric Marodon
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,236
Png does 8 or 16 bit colors which is plenty enough most of the time.

A good middle ground for me at least :
-lossless compression
-universal file format
-embedded alpha
-good color space

Keep in mind that even the top end cameras are only 10 o 12 bits (see red epic).

32 bits is overkill for me most of the time (save hdr), but I don't know, I'm doing broadcast stuff, not high end cinema.
 
Old 05-13-2013, 09:23 PM   #20
Horganovski
Freelance Animator/Rigger
 
Horganovski's Avatar
portfolio
Brian Horgan
Graphite9
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,877
Thanks, good to know. I'm not doing anything high end either, just trying to get the most out of the render/comp (while learning the ropes at the same time!).

Cheers,
Brian
 
Old 05-13-2013, 09:23 PM   #21
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.