CGTalk > Software > Austodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk MotionBuilder
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-19-2013, 02:23 PM   #1
Charriej
New Member
portfolio
Charlotte Vledder
3D-Designer / 3D-animation
Enschede, Netherlands
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 13
MotionBuilder's send to 3ds Max (animation)

Alloa,

I've been trying out MotionBuilder for work to see if we can use it in our pipeline.

The setup i'm using is as follows:

Custom bone system (Not using the bones from 3dsmax, but using editable poly's as bones)
Skinned a skin on those custom bones.

Imported them in MotionBuilder, characterized them and added a control rig. Made a small animation (moving the leg) in MotionBuilder, and used the send to 3ds Max function to get it back into 3ds Max.

Now comes the question:

In MotionBuilder i've used 2 keyframes for the animation. In 3dsmax there is a keyframe on every frame during the animation. Is there a way that i can only see the 2 keyframes from MotionBuilder in 3dsmax?

(been toying around with plotting the animation on the body part and on the skeleton, but can't seem to get those frames back to 3dsmax)


Thanks!

Greetings,
Charlotte
 
Old 11-20-2013, 02:00 PM   #2
wtoddk
Animator + Digital Artist
 
wtoddk's Avatar
portfolio
Todd Kelley
Animation Specialist
Barcelona,
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 333
Hi Charlotte... What you need to do is to get your default Plot settings to have the Constant Key Reducer turned on. To do that, Go to Animation > Plot All (or Plot Selected) and in the options, check the "Constant Key Reducer" checkbox. Go ahead and Plot and that will set that as your default plot settings when you use the Send to Max option. Then you should only see the actual keys that you animated in MotionBuilder.

Let us know how it goes!
__________________
Animator + CG Artist
why are you here when you could go for a stroll in the sunshine instead? -radiohead
 
Old 11-25-2013, 10:13 AM   #3
Charriej
New Member
portfolio
Charlotte Vledder
3D-Designer / 3D-animation
Enschede, Netherlands
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 13
Hey Wtoddk,

I've succeeded in actually getting the keys out of motion builder into Max. But somehow the only way that works is when you send the Maxfile to Motion builder, make the animation, and then send it back to 3ds max again (with the options you pointed out).

If I import all the files in Motion builder and then send it to max it still sets a key for every keyframe even with the "Constant Key Reducer" turned on.


Thanks for the help tho!

Greetings,
Charlotte
 
Old 11-25-2013, 10:13 AM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.