CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2013, 03:34 PM   #1
Troyan
Ice Cream Fanatic
 
Troyan's Avatar
portfolio
Troyan Turner
Creative Director
The Danse Multimedia
USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,432
Send a message via AIM to Troyan
What is the deal with Texture mode in R14

Can someone enlighten me on why the new texture mode was implemented with adjusting texture map placement? Apparently it's supposed to give more fine tuning control but there was nothing wrong with the way it's been for years and it seems worse to me. You used to be able to hold shift and scale the texture uniformly on 2 axes from the texture center. Now it scales from the left and it doesn't scale uniformly. Enabling the axis workplane doesn't seem to affect it's scaling uniformly. Frustrating. We do a lot of product animations where we have to decal logos on things and this slowed everything down. There's so many things that need love in Cinema, I'm confused why things like this happen.
__________________
2014 Reel
Company website
Behance Portfolio
HyperactiveVR
I reject your reality and substitute my own
 
Old 03-08-2013, 03:52 PM   #2
cmyk
Wielder of Untold Evil.
 
cmyk's Avatar
portfolio
Kevin Capizzi
Self-Employed (former Creative Director)
Kevin Capizzi CGI, LLC
USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 472
Send a message via AIM to cmyk
Tell me about it. This one stumped me for a while, until I unwittingly discovered it works as we're accustomed to if you have the Axis Mode enabled (shortcut: "L").

No idea why they changed that as it's more intuitive this way.
__________________
I'm a gun for hire... My work & gallery.
 
Old 03-08-2013, 03:54 PM   #3
JoelDubin
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,586
Yeah--L fixes it. I dont understand what the benefit of the default behavior is either but it stumped me for awhile as well.
__________________
_____________________________

MadMicrobe
MadMograph (blog)
Behance
 
Old 03-08-2013, 03:58 PM   #4
ThePriest
Bad Ass
 
ThePriest's Avatar
portfolio
Stuart Townsend
Environment artist
Berkeley, USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,572
I have to agree, it felt more intuitive in earlier versions. As did some other things.

*edit. I see a solution.

Seeing as that's solved, is there a way to avoid having to press shift every time I get stuck behind a wall? With archviz projects I find this to be quite infuriating.
__________________
۩PRIST

 
Old 03-08-2013, 04:01 PM   #5
SockGardener
PRO
 
SockGardener's Avatar
portfolio
Dill Delaney
Graphic Designer
Newbury, United%2BKingdom
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 190
I posted a mini explanation here

cheers
__________________
blog
vimeo
 
Old 03-08-2013, 04:03 PM   #6
imashination
Expert
 
imashination's Avatar
portfolio
Matthew ONeill
3D Fluff
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 8,958
One of the less well throught through interface decisions Maxon has made in recent years. Yes, enable the axis button to get back the old useful behaviour. Take 30 seconds and go tell them how silly it is; if enough people do, it might get changed back.

http://www.maxon.net/support/suggestions.html
__________________
Matthew O'Neill
www.3dfluff.com
 
Old 03-08-2013, 04:15 PM   #7
cmyk
Wielder of Untold Evil.
 
cmyk's Avatar
portfolio
Kevin Capizzi
Self-Employed (former Creative Director)
Kevin Capizzi CGI, LLC
USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 472
Send a message via AIM to cmyk
Indeed, even as the Texture tool works by default now, it seems practically useless, since it's stuck scaling from the left-top corner (or something?).

If there were options in the Attributes for that tool to set the constrained axis to the corners, center, and a uniform/non-uniform option and/or a hot key (like holding down Shift in photoshop or every other program), then I can get some leverage out of it. Not being able to at least scale it uniformly in the default mode boggles my mind.

Unless I'm missing something? Yeeeesh.
__________________
I'm a gun for hire... My work & gallery.
 
Old 03-08-2013, 04:32 PM   #8
Troyan
Ice Cream Fanatic
 
Troyan's Avatar
portfolio
Troyan Turner
Creative Director
The Danse Multimedia
USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,432
Send a message via AIM to Troyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmyk
Indeed, even as the Texture tool works by default now, it seems practically useless, since it's stuck scaling from the left-top corner (or something?).

If there were options in the Attributes for that tool to set the constrained axis to the corners, center, and a uniform/non-uniform option and/or a hot key (like holding down Shift in photoshop or every other program), then I can get some leverage out of it. Not being able to at least scale it uniformly in the default mode boggles my mind.

Unless I'm missing something? Yeeeesh.


Thanks guys, I was enabling the wrong axis tool and figured it out moments after writing the post. They should at least make it an option to toggle this "feature" on and off. I think I will take a moment to post this frustration at Maxon. It's just counter intuitive.

EDIT: and when I say toggle it on and off I mean a permanent global toggle, not having to activate the axis tool every time.
__________________
2014 Reel
Company website
Behance Portfolio
HyperactiveVR
I reject your reality and substitute my own

Last edited by Troyan : 03-08-2013 at 04:46 PM. Reason: clarification
 
Old 03-08-2013, 04:32 PM   #9
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.