CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2013, 09:29 PM   #1
JabbaTheNut
PRO
portfolio
James Grimes
Gilbert, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 122
Joint-Based Rig Pose Library Recommendations

I see that the Pose Morph Tag can be used with hierarchy and rotation selected. Is that the recommended way to go? Or, is there another solution I should consider?

I am using R14.
 
Old 06-05-2013, 07:57 AM   #2
EricM
Expert
Eric Marodon
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,293
You can have a look at Nitro4D "Nitropose" plugin maybe.
 
Old 06-05-2013, 04:49 PM   #3
smuzzler
Scholar
Dave
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 56
I just bought NitroPose but i haven't played with it yet. I'm still building out the rig.

Cactus Dan has a tag that is like a pose library. It is just text based so you can't see what the pose looks like before you click it. I'm not sure which plugin set it comes with, maybe the joints one.
 
Old 06-06-2013, 02:21 PM   #4
ZoZ
PRO
portfolio
Zoltan Korai
Netherlands
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 62
I can really recommend Nitropose, I learned it in a half an hour, and it's a pleasure to work with it!
sincerely; Zoltan
 
Old 06-06-2013, 03:30 PM   #5
AdamT
oh ... what?
 
AdamT's Avatar
Adam Trachtenberg
Modeler, Animator, Attorney
3D Anvil
Miami, USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 10,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by JabbaTheNut
I see that the Pose Morph Tag can be used with hierarchy and rotation selected. Is that the recommended way to go? Or, is there another solution I should consider?

I am using R14.


The morph tag works fine. I'm not sure what the advantage of the plugins is?
 
Old 06-06-2013, 04:56 PM   #6
ZoZ
PRO
portfolio
Zoltan Korai
Netherlands
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 62
Hi Adam,
Indeed the pose morph tag works fine, but these are the extra's of Nitropose:
Visual feedback for the poses; importing and exporting pose libraries, mirroring poses (if the joints are indexed properly)
sincerely: Zoltan
 
Old 06-06-2013, 06:33 PM   #7
xfon5168
Jack of All Trades
Bret Bays
Character TD
USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,147
Send a message via AIM to xfon5168
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamT
The morph tag works fine. I'm not sure what the advantage of the plugins is?


It's true, actually the Pose Morph can handle a lot of it. But the problem is when using hierarchy mode, if a target is enabled I believe it's locked that way and you can't adjust it further. So if you're doing your whole rig, that means your rig is locked. So to work you would have to enable the tag, set the pose, disable the tag to get back to work. So it's not ideal.
__________________
www.bretbays.com
"We do not - not wag our genitals at one another to make a point!"
 
Old 06-06-2013, 06:33 PM   #8
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.