CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Dynamics
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2013, 01:41 PM   #1
FyreFlare
Frequenter
portfolio
FyreFlare
United%2BKingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 111
Instancing Shattered Geometry

Hi, having some problems with particle instancing.
Im trying to instance pieces of shattered geometry to particles randomly. The random part works fine however its the instancing that isn't. I've tried shattering a plane and cube, into individual pieces and instancing the pieces, but the geometry is being offset from the particles themselves and keeping the original transforms from wherever they were shattered, Iv'e tried deleting history which dosn't help. Ive tried with 3 shatter scripts 2 from creative crash - ctShatter and ktRockShatter, and the built in shatter effect, which all have the same problem - am i missing something simple?
Thanks
 
Old 03-03-2013, 12:17 AM   #2
VB2341
Frequenter
portfolio
Varun Bajaj
Troy, US
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 125
Do you mean that the they're offset from the particle like they were offset from the center of the original object? When the object is shattered, do the shattered objects keep the same pivot as the had while they were still on the object? If so, maybe the pivot for each shattered piece needs to have its pivot centered? Maybe before instancing, try centering the pivot of each shattered object. I'd assume the instancer would look at the transforms of the object (which might mean the pivot's offset might cause issues).
 
Old 03-03-2013, 01:31 PM   #3
FyreFlare
Frequenter
portfolio
FyreFlare
United%2BKingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 111
Yeah thats what i thought, but centering the pivot dosn't have an effect:
Untitled-1.jpg

The geometry is staying in the position that it was shattered - the one selected is the one instanced.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled-1.jpg (87.9 KB, 24 views)
 
Old 03-03-2013, 02:25 PM   #4
HowardM
Digital Ho
 
HowardM's Avatar
--------------------->
FX TD
a large dark room . . . . ... . .. ...with bright monitors
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,077
You have to manually center every shard at 0,0,0, then center pivot, freeze transforms, etc.

Do this by simply making a locator at 0,0,0, select every shard, hold down "v" and move toward the locator.

Instancing 101.
__________________

.

Reel - 3DInk.com
Filmography -IMDB
R&D - VIMEO

*please read- cyanbsl.blogspot.com/*
 
Old 03-03-2013, 03:03 PM   #5
FyreFlare
Frequenter
portfolio
FyreFlare
United%2BKingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 111
ah! thats brill Howard thanks - knew it would be something simple.
 
Old 03-03-2013, 03:03 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.