CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-19-2012, 08:10 PM   #1
mayajunky
Addicted for life
 
mayajunky's Avatar
portfolio
Brian Metzger
Advanced Product Engineer
Douglas Machine
Alexandria, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 844
Rotating Orthographic Viewports in R14

Just a shoutout thanking Maxon for adding the functionality of rotating orthographic viewports! We always rig our machines down the Z-axis here, and being able to easily rotate the top orthographic camera to be able to render a top-down view which is in a horizontal format is going to be really handy!

Does anyone know if that rotation can be keyframed? I was digging into the coordinates for the linked camera of the viewport, in the view tab, but I always get the same rotation values displayed no matter what angle I rotate the view to.

Also I tried rotating the view 90degs and saving my layout, but when I reloaded the layout, it defaulted back to the original orientation. Anyone know how to define the top view always shows Z left to right across the screen initially?
EDIT: Oh I suppose that would be the template.c4d file holding that orientation information? although i tried that, and it still reverted back to default orientation.
__________________
www.mayajunky.com

All my favorites ~ Cinema 4D R13, After Effects, Photoshop CS5, Lightroom, Photomatic

Last edited by mayajunky : 09-19-2012 at 08:28 PM.
 
Old 09-19-2012, 08:58 PM   #2
penboack
Penboack
portfolio
Charles Kirk
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 103
Can't you just create a camera and set it up as a top view?

Switch to perspective view.
Create a camera.
In Object Manager LMB Click the camera;s activation button so that you are looking through it.
Set the Camera's R.P to -90, zero out P.X and P.Z, set R.Y to whatever (or change camera type to orthographic).
Animate R.H.
If you have set up an orthographic camera then you will need to rotate the object, as the camera is locked.

In terms of the Top, Front, and Right views I'm actually finding this a bit of a pain, largely because it seems to randomly choose between rotate and zoom.
Maybe it is because I'm continually switching between an Apple Trackpad and Intuos5 Touch.
No doubt I'll get used to it...
 
Old 09-19-2012, 09:38 PM   #3
mayajunky
Addicted for life
 
mayajunky's Avatar
portfolio
Brian Metzger
Advanced Product Engineer
Douglas Machine
Alexandria, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 844
Actually I was seeing in the "whats new" list you can rotate orthographic views now. I was trying to setup a preset scene with a different oriented top view so that I can just use the default camera without any unneeded extra clutter in my OM.
__________________
www.mayajunky.com

All my favorites ~ Cinema 4D R13, After Effects, Photoshop CS5, Lightroom, Photomatic
 
Old 09-19-2012, 09:38 PM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.