CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-19-2013, 05:50 PM   #1
JoelDubin
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,568
Zero angle/length only zeroes angle, not length

Anyone else notice that the zero angle/length command in the timeline (Key>Spline Types > Zero angle/length) doesn't actually zero out length? I usually go into the separate zero length and zero angle tangent commands instead. Either it's a bug or I am misunderstanding the point of the command.
__________________
_____________________________

MadMicrobe
MadMograph (blog)
Behance
 
Old 04-19-2013, 07:20 PM   #2
fluffouille
Booh
 
fluffouille's Avatar
Sébastien Florand
Fluffy4D
Durham, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,667
Probably a bug, thanks for spotting it (I usually use the separate commands).
I'll make a report!

*Edit
Actually, this command works differently. It will zero out the tangents on the curve, to make it as smooth as possible. The documentation is wrong here, and the behavior described is not what the command was intended for. The name of the command itself is a bit misleading.
__________________
One on one Online Instructor for Cinema4D | Visit www.Fluffy4D.com for more info.

Last edited by fluffouille : 04-19-2013 at 07:24 PM.
 
Old 04-19-2013, 07:33 PM   #3
JoelDubin
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,568
So will I. I believe that command got added back in for R14 (If Im not mistaken it was removed in R13).

I've been scratching my head wondering why it wasn't working properly and at first, as always, thought it was just me.

Thanks for confirming!

-joel
__________________
_____________________________

MadMicrobe
MadMograph (blog)
Behance
 
Old 04-19-2013, 07:37 PM   #4
JoelDubin
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,568
ahhh--just read your edit, fluffy.

I was wondering if that command was there for a specific reason. It makes sense, however it would be really useful to have a zero length/angle command that works as described rather than having to zero a key out with 2 commands. Gets tedious.
__________________
_____________________________

MadMicrobe
MadMograph (blog)
Behance
 
Old 04-19-2013, 07:52 PM   #5
LucentDreams
lover of gophers
 
LucentDreams's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Kai Pedersen
Lighting Lead
Double Negative
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,374
make a script that runs both commands.
__________________
Quote:
"Until you do what you believe in, how do you know whether you believe in it or not?" -Leo Tolstoy
Kai Pedersen
 
Old 04-19-2013, 08:36 PM   #6
JoelDubin
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,568
Unfortunately not a script writing kind of guy--but thanks.
__________________
_____________________________

MadMicrobe
MadMograph (blog)
Behance
 
Old 04-19-2013, 08:43 PM   #7
fluffouille
Booh
 
fluffouille's Avatar
Sébastien Florand
Fluffy4D
Durham, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,667
Just open the Script Manager and paste these two commands:
Code:
CallCommand(465001106); // Zero Angle (Tangent) CallCommand(465001107); // Zero Length (Tangent)


Then save the script and place it in your interface (or assign a shortcut to it).

You can create scripts like these by opening the Script Log window, and calling the commands you want to use in the script. They'll write themselves out for you.

By the way, the Zero Angle/Length command will reset the selected keyframe tangents using the autotangent algorythm (just so we know what it does exactly).
I reported the error in the documentation and suggested the name be changed to something more meaningful. We'll see what comes out of it.
__________________
One on one Online Instructor for Cinema4D | Visit www.Fluffy4D.com for more info.

Last edited by fluffouille : 04-19-2013 at 08:46 PM.
 
Old 04-19-2013, 08:54 PM   #8
JoelDubin
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,568
Thanks Sébastien!!!

Much easier to do than I remembered it to be!

Have a great weekend
-joel
__________________
_____________________________

MadMicrobe
MadMograph (blog)
Behance
 
Old 04-20-2013, 05:16 PM   #9
Nanome
Expert
portfolio
mAssimo
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 361
Speaking of tangents, I'd wish there was a way to emulate After Effects' behaviour in some way. In Cinema, the tangents of a path affect both Temporal and Spatial interpolation whereas Adobe separates the two, making it much more practical.
In Cinema, if the animation path has tangents it means the object will ease in an out of each point. In After Effects that object can still move linearly if you choose so, regardless of the lenght and angle of the tangents. This is a fundamental disctinction in motion graphics and IMO a missing feature in C4D.
 
Old 04-20-2013, 06:17 PM   #10
dann_stubbs
insert witty tag here
 
dann_stubbs's Avatar
Dann Stubbs
Systems Admin - ex 3D guy
USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelOtron
Thanks Sébastien!!!

Much easier to do than I remembered it to be!

Have a great weekend
-joel


don't forget to add this script too

CallCommand(101010101); // Make medical animation exactly how you want (Easy)



dann
__________________
-
Dann Stubbs - dann@darkskydigital.com
http://www.RenderKing.com Value Priced C4D, VRAY Render Farm
-
 
Old 04-20-2013, 09:37 PM   #11
fluffouille
Booh
 
fluffouille's Avatar
Sébastien Florand
Fluffy4D
Durham, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanome
Speaking of tangents, I'd wish there was a way to emulate After Effects' behaviour in some way. In Cinema, the tangents of a path affect both Temporal and Spatial interpolation whereas Adobe separates the two, making it much more practical.
In Cinema, if the animation path has tangents it means the object will ease in an out of each point. In After Effects that object can still move linearly if you choose so, regardless of the lenght and angle of the tangents. This is a fundamental disctinction in motion graphics and IMO a missing feature in C4D.

Probably not possible in a 3D environment, as lengthening a curve means affecting its positionning as well.
What you want is a timing curve, probably?
__________________
One on one Online Instructor for Cinema4D | Visit www.Fluffy4D.com for more info.
 
Old 04-20-2013, 09:37 PM   #12
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.