CGTalk > Techniques > Modeling
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-31-2013, 01:44 PM   #1
CAVALARS
Veteran
 
CAVALARS's Avatar
portfolio
Luca Rossi
digital illustrator
Milano, Italy
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 51
Send a message via MSN to CAVALARS
Question un-uniform Wire Mesh Modeling

hi mates,
it's been a long time from my last post here...

recently I retake to use 3d for work and now I'm modelling this particular tube mad of wire mesh(see attached file)...
ok quite simple, i start thinking of a simple Loft surface with alpha texture and bump/displacement to get the wire effect...that's sounds goog but client ask me detailed render and rendering from inside...Ouch! this means that texture isn't good enough.
I found Tutorial on web but how to get a tube with this deforming?

have you any other suggestion? I'd appreciate it.
Please help.

thank you
Attached Images
File Type: png Schermata 01-2456324 alle 14.39.26.png (62.9 KB, 11 views)
__________________
 
Old 01-31-2013, 04:55 PM   #2
Psyk0
Freelance chacha teacher
 
Psyk0's Avatar
portfolio
Patrick Boisvert
3D / 2D Artist
Soldak Entertainment
Quebec, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via MSN to Psyk0
Someone is paying you to do it and i have to tell you how? :P

I would start with low poly cylinders (create a few and merge them together), once i get the general outline close to the object's, add a subd modifier on top, this will give smooth lines with minimal geometry. Once i'm satisfied with the smoothness, i'd subdivide enough to have evenly spaced quads, this is important to reproduce the grid meshing. With enough geometry in place, select all the edges and detach them as spline objects, make these splines renderable in viewport, keep polygons to form the "solid" border of the object and delete the rest.
__________________
 
Old 02-01-2013, 08:42 AM   #3
CAVALARS
Veteran
 
CAVALARS's Avatar
portfolio
Luca Rossi
digital illustrator
Milano, Italy
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 51
Send a message via MSN to CAVALARS
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psyk0
Someone is paying you to do it and i have to tell you how? :P

I would start with low poly cylinders (create a few and merge them together), once i get the general outline close to the object's, add a subd modifier on top, this will give smooth lines with minimal geometry. Once i'm satisfied with the smoothness, i'd subdivide enough to have evenly spaced quads, this is important to reproduce the grid meshing. With enough geometry in place, select all the edges and detach them as spline objects, make these splines renderable in viewport, keep polygons to form the "solid" border of the object and delete the rest.

thank you psyko, i don't really understand well the last part of your method...
Quote:
make these splines renderable in viewport, keep polygons to form the "solid" border of the object

maybe if you explain better i would give a 50% of the 0$ cash i'll take from client...:-P
..
really, the last part is not so clear, i need a poly mesh for the wireframe,not renderable in mayavector!
__________________
 
Old 02-01-2013, 09:12 AM   #4
CAVALARS
Veteran
 
CAVALARS's Avatar
portfolio
Luca Rossi
digital illustrator
Milano, Italy
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 51
Send a message via MSN to CAVALARS
i was lookin on web and something i need is to get the mesh from the wireframe, as many software do..
suggestions to do that?
__________________
 
Old 02-01-2013, 03:52 PM   #5
Psyk0
Freelance chacha teacher
 
Psyk0's Avatar
portfolio
Patrick Boisvert
3D / 2D Artist
Soldak Entertainment
Quebec, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via MSN to Psyk0
Well i'm a max user so i don't know what the term is in maya, but in max you simply check a box that says render splines in viewport and you can convert them to editable polys, making them geometry instead of spline objects.
__________________
 
Old 02-01-2013, 09:49 PM   #6
AJ1
User
 
AJ1's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
A J
Indiana, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,810
Hey man,

Select your edges, and try using the "Polygon edges to curve" tool under Modify/Convert. You'll need to extrude a circle over your curves to get the geometry, but If you know a little python, that only takes a few minutes.

http://www.use.com/showoriginal.pl?...f2f04e04c22&p=1

-AJ
__________________
 
Old 02-01-2013, 09:49 PM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.