CGTalk > Software > Pixologic ZBrush
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-26-2013, 05:23 PM   #1
nelson-press
PRO
portfolio
nelson press
toronto, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 123
zbrush UVs farting up :S

i wanted to use zbrush to paint textures onto my model
but when i try to export the textures from zbrush i get this



i think there's something wrong with my UV maps, the model came from maya
like perhaps the UVs are clipping the boarder edge of the UV space or something

i can go into maya and fix my UVs, but how do i update my zbrush ztl file without loosing any of my painted textures?
 
Old 03-27-2013, 02:05 AM   #2
informerman
Expert
 
informerman's Avatar
portfolio
EZ-Brush
dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 900
try setting up your UV in zbrush First with the plugin call UV master
 
Old 03-27-2013, 12:31 PM   #3
nelson-press
PRO
portfolio
nelson press
toronto, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 123
well the model was originally created in maya
and all of the models UVs were unwrapped in maya

i was only going to use zbrush to get some texture maps
if i use UV master, to change the UVs on the model in ZBrush
then when i use ZBrush to generate the texture maps for
the maya model wouldnt the texture maps no longer match the UV maps on the maya model since the ZBrush UVs have been changed

wait, could i just take the Zbrush model and export that with the new ZBrush UVs into maya?

but im using a hair system in maya, if i did that wouldn't it mean id need to redo the maya hair system or something?
 
Old 03-28-2013, 02:53 AM   #4
informerman
Expert
 
informerman's Avatar
portfolio
EZ-Brush
dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 900
see if the GOZ plugin maya to zbrush will keep maya UV.
OR
IF zbrush cant read maya UV then see if maya can read zbrush UV With the UV master.
if thats a grouped mesh in maya with UV then try zbrush tool>polygoup> group with UV
then UV master and turn on polygoups in uv master

Last edited by informerman : 03-28-2013 at 03:03 AM.
 
Old 03-28-2013, 03:12 AM   #5
Jesse-Irvin
I ARE PANT!!
 
Jesse-Irvin's Avatar
portfolio
Jesse Taylor Irvin
Modeling Instructor
Vancouver Film School
West Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 363
Your UV's are too close to the edge and are wrapping around to the other side, keep your UV's firmly within each UV tile you wish to utilize (and if you use more than one tile be sure to bake with the multi map exporter.
__________________
Prexis the Damned WiP

Blizzard Art Contest Entry

JesseIrvin.com

email me at: jesse@jesseirvin.com
 
Old 03-29-2013, 12:52 PM   #6
nelson-press
PRO
portfolio
nelson press
toronto, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse-Irvin
Your UV's are too close to the edge and are wrapping around to the other side, keep your UV's firmly within each UV tile you wish to utilize (and if you use more than one tile be sure to bake with the multi map exporter.


yes, i kinda realize that thanks ...
(you can use more than one tile???)
 
Old 03-29-2013, 12:56 PM   #7
nelson-press
PRO
portfolio
nelson press
toronto, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by informerman
see if the GOZ plugin maya to zbrush will keep maya UV.
OR
IF zbrush cant read maya UV then see if maya can read zbrush UV With the UV master.
if thats a grouped mesh in maya with UV then try zbrush tool>polygoup> group with UV
then UV master and turn on polygoups in uv master


i dont think i understand how to use GoZ or UV master, guess ill have to look up a tutorial on the subject

what I ended up doing was reducing the subdivisions on my model in zbrush and re-importing the OBJ. as long as you don't change the topology all the details and such should transfer over fine.

that seems to work ... still should study up on the GoZ plugin and the UV Master plugin though :S

(i gotta redo some of these texture maps, thats something I was trying to avoid doing ... hey im doing it and its not as bad as i thought it would be ^^)
 
Old 03-29-2013, 12:56 PM   #8
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.