CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Character Setup
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-21-2013, 03:22 PM   #1
nac0n
New Member
portfolio
Sweden
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Question [Help requested]Multiple meshes, combined?

This is my first post on the forums and hope i put this in the correct part of the forums. Please notify and aid if that's not the case.

--

First of, i'm a newbie game student doing some work with modeling, rigging and animation where we're working on a game project.

Now this problem i have is on my character that i have and it's a bit trickier than the title itself.
I'll illustrate my problem with some screenshots and explanations.

1. http://i.imgur.com/v4I6f9N.png

- Here you can see how my headmesh somehow is combined with a identical headmesh. I moved my wanted mesh to the side with the help of my skeleton which i have smoothbinded to the headmesh. For some reason the other mesh doesn't follow along. I have no idea how it got like that. I didn't mean to have it so. Anyway...

2. http://i.imgur.com/vbJim6u.png

- Here's a close up, i selected a couple of faces on my unwanted mesh to try and remove it. Now the next and final part is where i get lost to what to do.

3. http://i.imgur.com/L11C1FR.png

- As you can see, the faces were deleted from both meshes at their respective place.

This confuses me, is that some kind of reference mesh, as it removes the faces from my other mesh too?
Somehow the tricount is counting the unwanted mesh, aka i got multiple tris on the head which causes performance drop in our game. I've asked people i know, but so far no one has figured it out why that unwanted mesh is there, and what it is.

Which is why i turned to this forum cause i believe you can help me figuring out what it possibly is and what i can do to remove it.

Hoping for response,
Nac0n
 
Old 03-21-2013, 05:38 PM   #2
nac0n
New Member
portfolio
Sweden
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Hello again, this issue was resolved by removing a node (note: this node had a tweak tab in the attribute editor) from the hypergraph that i somehow missed. It made them separated and i could remove the bad mesh.

Cheers
- Nac0n
 
Old 03-21-2013, 05:38 PM   #3
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.