CGTalk > Software > Compositing Software > Adobe After Effects
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-25-2013, 07:19 AM   #1
adamrw91
New Member
portfolio
adam ward
Vacaville, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to adamrw91
Wrong file name for image sequence

I just finished rendering out an EXR image sequence from 3ds max and in the file name it was called kitchen2 so all of the rendered images were saved as kitchen2001, kitchen2002... and so on. So now when I try and import the sequence into after effects it says that there is 2000 frames missing. How do i work around this? any help would be awesome!
 
Old 04-25-2013, 08:00 AM   #2
adamrw91
New Member
portfolio
adam ward
Vacaville, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to adamrw91
Is there a way possibly to open just a set number of frames?
 
Old 04-25-2013, 10:51 PM   #3
theta2
3D Generalist
 
theta2's Avatar
portfolio
Full Real Name
New York, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 143
You could use a Resquencer program to rename them. There's some free ones out there.
 
Old 04-26-2013, 01:35 AM   #4
adamrw91
New Member
portfolio
adam ward
Vacaville, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to adamrw91
I thought i would have to rename them. Thanks for the info.
Any recommendations on a good re-sequencing program? Is it possible with quick time pro?
 
Old 05-06-2013, 09:05 PM   #5
CosmicRage
the great saiyaman
portfolio
Chris
Motion Graphics Artist
USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 396
You should be able to batch export out of photoshop.
__________________
Think | Create | Inspire | Survive
http://reanimatedfallout.com
@chrisreanimated
 
Old 05-24-2013, 04:59 AM   #6
wadjechetan
New Member
portfolio
India
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 8
hiii....you can use acdsee pro. Basically it is an image viewing software. But you can batch rename your file from thr very easily....
go for acdsee pro 5.....
Good Luck...:-)
 
Old 06-18-2013, 07:20 PM   #7
Janman
New Member
Jan
Gent, Belgium
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Search for "Lupas Rename"
It's a free file-renamer with a load of functions and renumbering.
You can even make it a shell extension to work faster.

In your case;
rename "kitchen2" to "kitchen2_" and it will be fixed

cya,
Jan
 
Old 06-24-2013, 05:16 PM   #8
kyrgr
Frequenter
portfolio
kyriakos Rissakis
None
Athens, Greece
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 143
Does not 'ren kitchen2* kiitchen*' command line in
a cmd window do the trick? I think it does, maybe i
miss something.
Of course he could check the "force alphabetical
order" when importing to AE.
 
Old 06-24-2013, 09:32 PM   #9
Janman
New Member
Jan
Gent, Belgium
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
"REN" in commandline doesn't support that much features for renaming parts of a filename.

When using Lupas Rename with the shell extension it's just right-clicking "Lupas Rename from here" and the renaming starts in the right directory.

It's free, it works so why try to do it the hard way ? :-)
 
Old 06-24-2013, 09:32 PM   #10
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.