CGTalk > Techniques > Modeling
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-02-2013, 02:23 PM   #1
Nogert
Frequenter
Robert
Warrington, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 107
Can I remove unnecessary detail or should I keep quads?

Ok here's my problem.


1. I've made an arch here and In order to do this I had to create a lot of edges.

2. I had to cut the object from top to bottom in order to keep everything in quads and still make the arch.

Am I modelling correctly in terms of creating for game design? Or should I be deleting those edges on the face and disregarding quads?
 
Old 11-02-2013, 05:54 PM   #2
elmoooo
Know-it-All
 
elmoooo's Avatar
portfolio
Emanuel Dasilva Luz
3d character artist
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 344
hey nogert
you have to many edges going up
you need to collapse all the ones that are not contributing to the shape
right after the arch you should collapse all those edges you should only have 1 edge out of all thosecollapsed arch ones and you should weld it to another vertice on the side
keep it up
 
Old 11-02-2013, 06:17 PM   #3
Nogert
Frequenter
Robert
Warrington, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 107
Ah right, does it not matter than the arch edges will turn into tri's rather than quads?

Thanks for the help.
 
Old 11-02-2013, 06:48 PM   #4
elmoooo
Know-it-All
 
elmoooo's Avatar
portfolio
Emanuel Dasilva Luz
3d character artist
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 344
no but you have to watch out for smoothing errors that can be caused by triangles
and longers triangles make longer smoothing errors
sometimes when you see a funky error from a tri try connecting it to the other side see if it helps
its a balance between poly budget,clean modeling,and outline shape
and if you dont se the back delete the poly there
 
Old 11-02-2013, 09:21 PM   #5
Bergquist
3D Artist
 
Bergquist's Avatar
portfolio
Aaron Bergquist
3D Stuff
BlueScope
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 936
Hello Robert,

What you are modeling there is a type of hard surface sculpt.
You won't ever be smoothing it.
Any fine detail will be added in the normal map texture.

With that said, don't worry about getting rid of the extra edge loops or keeping quads in this case. Just take all those edges from the arch straight to the corner.

I've done a quick mock up of your model in Maya to you show you what I mean.


Hope this helps.
- Bergquist
 
Old 11-03-2013, 02:10 PM   #6
Nogert
Frequenter
Robert
Warrington, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 107
Thanks guys, looks much better now.

 
Old 11-03-2013, 02:36 PM   #7
Bergquist
3D Artist
 
Bergquist's Avatar
portfolio
Aaron Bergquist
3D Stuff
BlueScope
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 936
lookin better I would go ahead and take out those last two edge loops going up the center unless your going to use them for an extrude they are just wasted polys
 
Old 11-04-2013, 07:32 AM   #8
Meloncov
Expert
 
Meloncov's Avatar
portfolio
Kevin Baker
Freelance Modeller
Oakland, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,360
There is no need to maintain quads for in-game meshes. The reason why you sometimes want to use quads is to allow for clean subdivision, either for SubD rendering or for sculpting. Games don't use SubDs so that's not an issue. If you're planning on sculpting details in ZBrush or Mudbox, you'll want to create two version of the mesh, one high-resolution with quads, and the other one lower resolution with triangles.
__________________
kevinbakercg.com
 
Old 11-04-2013, 03:29 PM   #9
Nogert
Frequenter
Robert
Warrington, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meloncov
There is no need to maintain quads for in-game meshes. The reason why you sometimes want to use quads is to allow for clean subdivision, either for SubD rendering or for sculpting. Games don't use SubDs so that's not an issue. If you're planning on sculpting details in ZBrush or Mudbox, you'll want to create two version of the mesh, one high-resolution with quads, and the other one lower resolution with triangles.


Really? are just triangles acceptable or can I just go crazy and have like 8 sided faces?
 
Old 11-04-2013, 08:41 PM   #10
Meloncov
Expert
 
Meloncov's Avatar
portfolio
Kevin Baker
Freelance Modeller
Oakland, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,360
N-gons are still a problem. The reason why it doesn't matter if you have tris or quads is that the game engine is going to split everything into triangles anyways. Triangulating n-gons is a bit more tricky than triangulating quads, so some software doesn't know how to handle it. xNormal, for instance, will just flat out not allow n-gons. However, you can just triangulate any n-gons in your modeling package and you're good to go.
__________________
kevinbakercg.com
 
Old 11-04-2013, 08:41 PM   #11
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.