CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-17-2013, 11:06 AM   #1
raliq
New Member
portfolio
Oliver Andersson
Eksj%25C3%25B6, Sweden
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
3D texture with ramp or file, using VRay

Hey guys,

This is probably a noobish question but I just can't figure it out..

So I want to apply a ramp to shader. I want the ramp to move around on the surface of the object when the object moves.

This works fine with the "Crater"-texture but VRay doesn't support this texture. How do I apply the same effect with a "Ramp" or "file"?

I can't create a "3d Placement"-node and simply connect it to a ramp/file. Nothing seems to work.

Thankful for any reply!
 
Old 04-17-2013, 11:37 AM   #2
THExDUKE
Know-it-All
 
THExDUKE's Avatar
portfolio
Erce Erim
3D Generalist
Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 494
Do you want to animate the ramp colors? Is it that what you mean? If so, you could set keys on the position of the colors and move those.
__________________
Cheers Duke

Blog
 
Old 04-17-2013, 12:46 PM   #3
Tobbe
Expert
 
Tobbe's Avatar
portfolio
Torbjorn Ahman
3D Artist
Fossinn Graphics AB
Sweden
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 299
Sounds like you want to do a texture projection on the surface, right?
 
Old 04-17-2013, 03:06 PM   #4
raliq
New Member
portfolio
Oliver Andersson
Eksj%25C3%25B6, Sweden
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobbe
Sounds like you want to do a texture projection on the surface, right?


Yeah it's more like a projection like all the 3D-textures that comes with Maya I think..
 
Old 04-17-2013, 03:07 PM   #5
raliq
New Member
portfolio
Oliver Andersson
Eksj%25C3%25B6, Sweden
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by THExDUKE
Do you want to animate the ramp colors? Is it that what you mean? If so, you could set keys on the position of the colors and move those.

Animating the ramp could work. Feels like it's a bit time consuming though.
 
Old 04-17-2013, 03:11 PM   #6
Tobbe
Expert
 
Tobbe's Avatar
portfolio
Torbjorn Ahman
3D Artist
Fossinn Graphics AB
Sweden
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 299
In the hypershade right click on the file or ramp texture and select "Create as projection". That will give you a 3d placement node for the texture. If that's what you want.
 
Old 04-17-2013, 04:21 PM   #7
thematt
brain filler
 
thematt's Avatar
matt
EMCA
France
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobbe
In the hypershade right click on the file or ramp texture and select "Create as projection". That will give you a 3d placement node for the texture. If that's what you want.

this doesn't work in maya 2013 (at least here) windows64. You have to go to the createNode menu to be able to do it now.
But to answer the question, yes do as Tobbe says to project your ramp.
 
Old 04-18-2013, 07:47 AM   #8
raliq
New Member
portfolio
Oliver Andersson
Eksj%25C3%25B6, Sweden
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by thematt
this doesn't work in maya 2013 (at least here) windows64. You have to go to the createNode menu to be able to do it now.
But to answer the question, yes do as Tobbe says to project your ramp.

I actually didn't know you could just right click (thanks!), anyway I did this manually before instead but it doesn't work the same way as a regular 3d-texture.
Now I'm just getting a planar projection (I have tried the other like cube,sphere as well), isn't there anyway to do this thing?

I want the same function as a "crater"-3d texture. When I move the object Or scale the 3d placement-node I want the texture to move around.
 
Old 04-18-2013, 08:23 AM   #9
Tobbe
Expert
 
Tobbe's Avatar
portfolio
Torbjorn Ahman
3D Artist
Fossinn Graphics AB
Sweden
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 299
Hmm, try to explain a bit more what you're after... a 2d-texture is 2d, it can't act as a 3d-texture. Only 3d you get is the placement node which you can move, animate etc. Note the "wrap" attribute as well if you don't want the tiling.
 
Old 04-18-2013, 02:30 PM   #10
raliq
New Member
portfolio
Oliver Andersson
Eksj%25C3%25B6, Sweden
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobbe
Hmm, try to explain a bit more what you're after... a 2d-texture is 2d, it can't act as a 3d-texture. Only 3d you get is the placement node which you can move, animate etc. Note the "wrap" attribute as well if you don't want the tiling.

Really quick answers here, appreciate it! So the thing I'm after is, I'm making soap bubbles with particles and instancer. I want the colors of the soap to animate while the bubbles are flying around.

Maybe the only thing to do is animate the ramp or noise. Just thought that there could be some easier way.
 
Old 04-18-2013, 03:06 PM   #11
Tobbe
Expert
 
Tobbe's Avatar
portfolio
Torbjorn Ahman
3D Artist
Fossinn Graphics AB
Sweden
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 299
ok. If the crater doesn't work. Maybe you could use a 3d-noise texture and remap the output, using a ramp (pipe the output from the noise into the u or v coord of the ramp). I think you should get about the same effect. Don't know if this is the best approach for soup bubbles though. Worth a try!
 
Old 04-18-2013, 03:06 PM   #12
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.