CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk Softimage
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-14-2013, 11:48 PM   #1
Bitcloud
New Member
portfolio
Lachlan Phillips
Eric Motion Graphics
Cairns, Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Translating entire animation?

Hey Guys,

I'm wondering if anyone has any idea on a way, via the viewport, to translate an entire animation/fcurves for a selected object?

Eg. Your character walks down a footpath, you select and translate/rotate the character's controls in the viewport and the preceding and following animation follows.

Any thoughts on this?
Cheers
 
Old 04-15-2013, 01:27 AM   #2
ThE_JacO
MOBerator-X
 
ThE_JacO's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Raffaele Fragapane
That Creature Dude
Animal Logic
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,955
The rig should offer that.
If it doesn't, then you'll have to offset the animation of whatever master control that can do it yourself. To do it you can either jerry rig the lot with a bunch of constraints and plotting animation back and forth, or if you can have the animation live in the mixer then you can consider using a clip FX.

As thing like rotation imply a lot more than offsetting some keyframes, but can change the time and density need of the curves, you can't just move something away and everything automagically follows.
__________________
"As an online CG discussion grows longer, the probability of the topic being shifted to subsidies approaches 1"

Free Maya Nodes
 
Old 04-18-2013, 04:30 PM   #3
sonictk
Use Your Tools.
 
sonictk's Avatar
portfolio
Siew Yi%2BLiang%2B
Tech. Artist
Heroes of Newerth team
Kalamazoo, Singapore
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bitcloud
Hey Guys,

I'm wondering if anyone has any idea on a way, via the viewport, to translate an entire animation/fcurves for a selected object?

Eg. Your character walks down a footpath, you select and translate/rotate the character's controls in the viewport and the preceding and following animation follows.

Any thoughts on this?
Cheers

Usually I just select all control curves/implicits, go into the graph editor and manually offset them that way (are you talking about offsetting in terms of timing or actual position?)
 
Old 04-18-2013, 04:30 PM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.