CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Rendering
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2013, 04:58 PM   #1
LittleMsMarvel
New Member
portfolio
Georgia
Cooksmill Green, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Motion blur on stationary objects using mv2dnorm Pass?

I'm having trouble getting a good motion blur pass from Maya to composite in Nuke. The camera is panning from right to left and so, as you can see from the image, the blur is going the wrong way and looks incorrect (I've amped up the multiplication for the sake of demonstration).

I'm rendering out into EXR format using Mental Ray in Maya 2013 using a mv2dnormremap pass (Max Pixel Disp. = 256) on a dedicated render layer with just a white surface shader on my objects and everything else with its primary vis off. I'm wondering if the problem has something to do with the fact that my object is stationary. I've read that rendering with raytrace will not achieve a motion vector for stationary objects and that rendering with Scanline will, though I tried this and there was no improvement. I have also adjusted the necessary settings in order to (hopefully) counter the .5 off-set issue by setting the shutter close to 0 and also the motion back offset to 0 in the motion blur settings.

Would using mip_motion vector shaders be a viable alternative? Or mv2dToxic? Perhaps there is a problem with my tree in Nuke? NB. Setting the add uv value to -0.5 in the MotionVector node in Nuke gives me no motion blur at all.

I'm pretty new to all this, of course I can provide more information about my set up.

Thanks in advance

 
Old 01-14-2013, 06:00 AM   #2
Bitter
Also Highly Corrosive
 
Bitter's Avatar
David Fer Real
Fixer of things
USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,721
Post motion blur seems to be killing most people.

Thought about seeing how long the frame is with in-render motion blur and Unified Sampling?
__________________
My opinions are always my own...and maybe a friend's, but never my employer's.
 
Old 01-14-2013, 02:56 PM   #3
Starbuckle
New Member
portfolio
Georgia Clegg
Cooksmill Green, GB
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
<Edit> Oops, accidentally posted from the wrong account

Last edited by Starbuckle : 01-17-2013 at 10:47 AM.
 
Old 01-15-2013, 07:07 PM   #4
LittleMsMarvel
New Member
portfolio
Georgia
Cooksmill Green, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
I took your advise and got good results, so the problem is no longer intractable (phew). However, I would just really like to conquer these motion vector pass problems for my own peace of mind. Do you think the fact that my object is stationary could be a problem?

I tried using a mip_motion_vector shader, even though I know they cause Mental Ray to crash in Maya 2013. I created a new framebuffer and that seemed to improve things, and ensured that the Legacy Output Shader settings on my render cam were set to 'Colour', 'Depth' and 'Motion Vector' and Motion Blur was set to 'Full'. I am rendering out in 32-bit floating and so I wanted to check 'float' as opposed to 'byte' or 'short' but oddly enough it's missing from the attribute options which look a bit messed up (See below - note 'Shor' as opposed to 'Short').

Unfortunately I'm not getting anything that resembles motion vector information in my renders (no green or red, just whatever materials are assigned, in this case a white shader). Have I missed out something fundamental or is the whole enterprise a a non-starter in Maya 2013?

http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c...zps48d4bd9b.png
 
Old 01-15-2013, 07:07 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.