CGTalk > Software > Photoshop / Painter
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2012, 08:23 AM   #16
Dekus
Lord of the posts
 
Dekus's Avatar
portfolio
Yuri Yablokov
Student
Metropolia School of Art and Deisgn
Vantaa, Finland
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 627
Send a message via MSN to Dekus
Quote:
Originally Posted by th3ta
I wish tye had 2 versions of the software, one like it is now, and a streamlined version, without all the video, 3d features.


That is an awesome idea!!! Yess

the streamlined version would only have all the needed stuff for painting and picture editing. hmmm...... basically PS CS3 haha!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ
Or simply don't upgrade from CS5


Hmm.. I bought the student license CS6 Production Premium Pack. Is it possible to downgrade only the Photoshop to CS5?... then later maybe skip straight to CS7..?
Somehow I feel those are not really possible.
__________________
-
The Answer to The Ultimate Question Of Life, the Universe and Everything is 42!

http://j2dab.blogspot.com/
dekus.carbonmade.com

Last edited by Dekus : 10-09-2012 at 04:19 PM.
 
Old 10-08-2012, 11:24 PM   #17
conbom
Expert
portfolio
ET
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 662
Quote:
On the Adobe forums people have said that hiding the layers panel helps. I've noticed it helps a little, but still just doesn't feel as fast as CS5.


Yeah that resolves the problem on my end too, it's clearly a quality issue on adobe's part. GTX 2,4,5XX are all high performance, extremely common cards and should burn through this stuff with no issues whatsoever, if they don't there is somthing wrong with the software.

Adobe uses a completely new UI as of CS6, I know this much

I personally would like to know exactly what is causing this so I can avoid the issue. CS6 is a great update apart from the performance lag.

Anyone have links to the UI discussion on the adobe forum?
 
Old 10-15-2012, 10:35 AM   #18
zou
Veteran
portfolio
zouhayer
Tunisia
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 78
wow guyz
so powerfull computers and still lag !
my computer is:

Quadcore
8 GO
ati radeon hd 4650

my little computer is doing good in cs5 (i'm just doing digital painting)
but cs6 is slower

it's a shame adobe make studios pays for such poor quality product (it makes me feel feel like windows, not so effective product but all people must use it)
 
Old 10-15-2012, 11:05 AM   #19
Dekus
Lord of the posts
 
Dekus's Avatar
portfolio
Yuri Yablokov
Student
Metropolia School of Art and Deisgn
Vantaa, Finland
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 627
Send a message via MSN to Dekus
Quote:
Originally Posted by zou
wow guyz
so powerfull computers and still lag !
my computer is:

Quadcore
8 GO
ati radeon hd 4650

my little computer is doing good in cs5 (i'm just doing digital painting)
but cs6 is slower

it's a shame adobe make studios pays for such poor quality product (it makes me feel feel like windows, not so effective product but all people must use it)


I agree on everything you said..

But you know what...? I was expecting it to lag.
Look at this:
http://imagehaul.com/thehauls/fde06...e8dd18593b5.jpg

Now look at this:
PS6 = meh
PS 7 = Legendary
PS 8 = meh
PS CS1 = ok
PS CS2 = bad
PS CS3 = Personally I think the best Photoshop ever
PS CS4 = Personally I think the worst Adobe package ever..
PS CS5 = Great!
PS CS6 = You guessed it!!



I am sooo waiting for CS7
__________________
-
The Answer to The Ultimate Question Of Life, the Universe and Everything is 42!

http://j2dab.blogspot.com/
dekus.carbonmade.com
 
Old 02-19-2013, 10:16 AM   #20
daadaa
FENG of the DAA
 
daadaa's Avatar
portfolio
Da Feng
Automotive Designer
Coventry
Coventry, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 413
Send a message via MSN to daadaa
Here are some lag fixes ive found so far (wacom driver issues aside)

1st-photoshop is always saving in the background which is probably the main issue... you can turn this off in: Preferences > File Handling > ‘Save in Background’

(beware... this will disable autoback)

2nd- links to the first, if you on a network or using network drive, this problem will get SO much worse, sometimes ill be waiting a minute just to turn on a layer... So sometimes you might have to work on your local drive.

3rd - it might be ur AV.... so add ps into exceptions... this wasnt a total fix for the issue for me but did speed things up a little.

hope this helps
__________________
More Stuff....
 
Old 02-19-2013, 09:29 PM   #21
Dekus
Lord of the posts
 
Dekus's Avatar
portfolio
Yuri Yablokov
Student
Metropolia School of Art and Deisgn
Vantaa, Finland
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 627
Send a message via MSN to Dekus
Quote:
Originally Posted by daadaa
Here are some lag fixes ive found so far (wacom driver issues aside)

1st-photoshop is always saving in the background which is probably the main issue... you can turn this off in: Preferences > File Handling > ‘Save in Background’

(beware... this will disable autoback)

2nd- links to the first, if you on a network or using network drive, this problem will get SO much worse, sometimes ill be waiting a minute just to turn on a layer... So sometimes you might have to work on your local drive.

3rd - it might be ur AV.... so add ps into exceptions... this wasnt a total fix for the issue for me but did speed things up a little.

hope this helps


Auto-Backup really slows things down that much? wow.. ok Thanks!
I'm not using any network drives or anything.. and besides, it's generally a good idea to always work locally, then move stuff later if needed.

I found out my personal epic lagging issue.. by accident.
I always have Color Proofing on to view my paintings as they will appear after I render out a .png or anything.. (Proofing is set to my Monitor RGB)

Now I accidentally turned it off.. and BAM! Super fast 3D in PS! Gained like +20-30 fps!
Now I've set up my Color Settings in PS to Monitor RGB so I don't have to use the Color Proofing option and my images get to look the same as when I render them out.

__________________
-
The Answer to The Ultimate Question Of Life, the Universe and Everything is 42!

http://j2dab.blogspot.com/
dekus.carbonmade.com
 
Old 02-20-2013, 12:28 AM   #22
klingspor
Lord of the posts
portfolio
N/A
Afghanistan
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dekus
Now look at this:
PS6 = meh
PS 7 = Legendary
PS 8 = meh
PS CS1 = ok
PS CS2 = bad
PS CS3 = Personally I think the best Photoshop ever
PS CS4 = Personally I think the worst Adobe package ever..
PS CS5 = Great!
PS CS6 = You guessed it!!



I am sooo waiting for CS7
There was no Photoshop 8. Photoshop CS1 = Photoshop 8.
 
Old 02-20-2013, 12:28 AM   #23
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.