CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Rendering
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-22-2014, 05:38 PM   #1
Dylex
Scout
portfolio
Dominic Newman
Stevenage, United%2BKingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 25
Problem with lighting in maya

Here is the video of my problem
 
Old 01-22-2014, 10:12 PM   #2
Cyberone
SailingAtomSailingAtThem!
 
Cyberone's Avatar
portfolio
Simon Bull
Animal Logic
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,137

Hi again

what type of light do you have in your scene?

have you turned on the shadows for it?

select the light. look at the attribute editor (control+A) open the shadows tab and make sure "use ray traced shadows" is turned on.

in your vid I can see the light is working. also maybe turn final gather off for the moment in the render settings and you will see more of what the light is doing by itself.

Actually. on second thoughts. how is your shader/material set up for the blocks? where is the texture plugged into?
__________________
 
Old 01-23-2014, 04:36 PM   #3
Dylex
Scout
portfolio
Dominic Newman
Stevenage, United%2BKingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 25
 
Old 01-23-2014, 09:55 PM   #4
Cyberone
SailingAtomSailingAtThem!
 
Cyberone's Avatar
portfolio
Simon Bull
Animal Logic
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,137

Ill make a video tonight to show you how to set up minecraft renders in maya with mental ray nicely tonight (its morning here so Ill do it after work...) if I get time.
__________________
 
Old 01-23-2014, 10:32 PM   #5
Cyberone
SailingAtomSailingAtThem!
 
Cyberone's Avatar
portfolio
Simon Bull
Animal Logic
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,137

Just had a quick look at how mineways works and how the import works of the obj materials into maya. I can see where your problems are coming from now.

I have used j-mc-2-obj before which was pretty good but mineways does stuff a little differently.

Ill have a play and make a tutorial video for you tonight (most of the ones on youtube are pretty crap )
__________________
 
Old 01-25-2014, 09:34 AM   #6
Dylex
Scout
portfolio
Dominic Newman
Stevenage, United%2BKingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 25
Could you link me to your youtube channel?
 
Old 01-26-2014, 05:08 AM   #7
Cyberone
SailingAtomSailingAtThem!
 
Cyberone's Avatar
portfolio
Simon Bull
Animal Logic
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,137

Sorry for the late reply...
Had to find the time to make and upload the videos...

So here we are:

Part one.


Part two:


the script that I used in part two:
(note it seems when im posting code its putting a space in front of all the lines...you may have to delete the space from each line...sad):


Code:
import maya.cmds as cmds ''' replace the rgba texture path below ''' texturePath = 'C:/Users/someuser/Desktop/minecraft_export/world_for_maya-RGBA.png' objSel = cmds.ls(sl=True, s=1, dag=1) for object in objSel : geo = object SgNodes = cmds.listConnections(object, type='shadingEngine') matMaya = cmds.listConnections(SgNodes [0] + '.surfaceShader') objectName = cmds.listConnections(object,p=True)[0] mat = (matMaya[0]) print mat colConneted =cmds.listConnections(mat+".color")[0] fileConnedted = cmds.setAttr(colConneted+".fileTextureName",texturePath,type="string") cmds.setAttr (colConneted+".filterType",0) print fileConnedted myMat = cmds.shadingNode('mia_material_x', asShader=True) cmds.select(geo) cmds.hyperShade( assign=myMat) cmds.setAttr (myMat+'.ao_on',1) cmds.setAttr (myMat+'.ao_distance',1) cmds.setAttr (myMat+'.diffuse_roughness',1) cmds.setAttr (myMat+'.reflectivity',0) cmds.setAttr (myMat+'.refr_ior',1) cmds.connectAttr(colConneted+".outColor",myMat+".diffuse") cmds.connectAttr(colConneted+".outAlpha",myMat+".cutout_opacity")
__________________

Last edited by Cyberone : 07-01-2014 at 12:15 AM.
 
Old 01-26-2014, 06:23 AM   #8
Cyberone
SailingAtomSailingAtThem!
 
Cyberone's Avatar
portfolio
Simon Bull
Animal Logic
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,137

And here are some quick test renders.

I played with the water a bit after finishing the videos


__________________

Last edited by Cyberone : 01-26-2014 at 06:38 AM.
 
Old 01-26-2014, 10:35 AM   #9
Dylex
Scout
portfolio
Dominic Newman
Stevenage, United%2BKingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 25
Thanks! Watching it now
 
Old 01-26-2014, 09:33 PM   #10
Dylex
Scout
portfolio
Dominic Newman
Stevenage, United%2BKingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 25


This is a render that i did. Thanks!
PS. Its colored because i used a colored light, When color corrected and graded it looks awesome! Took me about 1.2 hours to render 60 frames Lasts about 3 secounds.
 
Old 01-27-2014, 09:49 PM   #11
Cyberone
SailingAtomSailingAtThem!
 
Cyberone's Avatar
portfolio
Simon Bull
Animal Logic
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,137

That looks pretty cool.
Glad you got it working.
__________________
 
Old 01-27-2014, 09:49 PM   #12
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.