CGTalk > Software > Compositing Software > Adobe After Effects
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-07-2012, 03:35 PM   #1
cakesodainitiative
New Member
portfolio
Cake Soda
Sodatown, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
Integrating Layers into imported 3D Scene (text orbiting around globe)

I have created an animation of satellites orbiting around the earth in Maya. I wanted to add animated text near the satellites as they hit certain areas. I exported the camera and orbit nulls from Maya and they work fine within After Effects. I am able to create a text layer, copy the null orbit animation and the text orbits correctly.

The thing that I'm struggling with is to figure out the best way to use the rendered earth sequence (with alpha) as a 3D matte within AE so the text orbits in front and behind the earth as it should. I sort of got it to work by making the Earth sequence a 3D layer and parenting it to an earth null I created in Maya. The text/nulls "orbit" around the footage properly. The problem is I have to scale the footage by hand and that can lead to inaccurate results.

Are there any other tricks to get this to work? I've read about importing 3D objects via Photoshop but all I really wanted was an alpha in 3D space. Or is that really my only other option?
 
Old 11-08-2012, 07:39 AM   #2
Mylenium
_________________________
Mylène's greatest fan
Modeler/Animator/Compositing Artist
Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,848
Depends. I would probably simply use the sequence as a duplicate and set the mode to Stencil Alpha on top of the entire comp/ the text layers to clean things up. If you have a deptha pass, you might also use luma mattes or the gradient wipe effect to generate depth-based clipping.

Mylenium
__________________
[Pour Mylène, ange sur terre]
----------------------------------------------
www.myleniumblog.com

 
Old 11-09-2012, 04:15 PM   #3
cakesodainitiative
New Member
portfolio
Cake Soda
Sodatown, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
Thanks.. I thought about trying the zDepth thing after I posted this question. I'll try both out and see what I come up with. Thanks again!.
 
Old 11-09-2012, 04:15 PM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.