CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-15-2013, 12:04 PM   #1
mraw
New Member
 
mraw's Avatar
portfolio
Martin Rahmlow
Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 22
Paint Fx toon lines Issue 2

Here' comes an issue with flickering thin lines. Again I render the pfx lines on top of a use BG shader. Notice how the brightness change at the 3 vertical lines at the left.
First I thought of clipping plane problem because the scene scale is pretty big- So I turned off optimized clipping plane and uses optimized min/max settings, but it didn't work.

Any ideas/tips???

thank you in advance
Attached Images
File Type: jpg frame23.jpg (89.6 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg frame24.jpg (87.8 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg frame25.jpg (90.4 KB, 10 views)

Last edited by mraw : 04-19-2013 at 10:20 AM.
 
Old 04-19-2013, 10:40 AM   #2
mraw
New Member
 
mraw's Avatar
portfolio
Martin Rahmlow
Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 22
I doublechecked my clipping approach. I offsetted the Toon-Outline and I rendered only a very narrow Min/Max camera clipping value. No change.
There must be another reason why my Outlines are flickering from frame to frame.
 
Old 04-19-2013, 04:51 PM   #3
stooch
Lord of the posts
 
stooch's Avatar
portfolio
Dimitri Loginowski
VFX Artist + Designer
Handsome, LLC
Beverly Hills, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,029
Send a message via AIM to stooch
ok... the format of your materials is a pain in the ass to look at. might help to merge the images onto one long image and maybe crop and highlight the problem geometry.

if your lines are too thin for AA to consistently sample, you will get flickering. could also be a depth sorting issue if you have two lines who are running in nearly the same path.
__________________
From Russia, with love @ stooch.tv
 
Old 04-19-2013, 07:56 PM   #4
Duncan
Expert
 
Duncan's Avatar
Duncan Brinsmead
Principal Scientist
Autodesk
Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,984
Note that with pfx lines the normal antialiasing settings of the render do not apply. Turn on oversample and oversample post filter in the render global(under pfx render options) to improve the antialiasing... in particular with regards to integration with the depth buffer. Another option is to convert pfx to poly and make the normal aa-min/max levels high.
 
Old 04-19-2013, 07:56 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.