CGTalk > Techniques > Texturing and Surfacing
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2013, 11:50 AM   #1
popflier
Veteran
 
popflier's Avatar
portfolio
Nicole Ford
Unemployed
Denver, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 37
How to use and setup more than 0,1 texture space in Maya?

I have a leafy sea dragon that I have modeled out. (see the attached image). I've done the painstaking job of unwrapping the UV's, but now I'm in a situation that wasn't covered when I was in school. After unwrapping all of the pieces I tried to place them all in the 0,1 texture space. The problem is that there are too many parts to this guy and if I were able to fit it all in a 0,1 texture space the resolution on the entire thing would never be good enough. I've read a little about people creating multiple UV layouts for different parts of the same object, but I've never actually setup the shading network or UV's in order to do this. I was thinking that I could put all of the "leafy extensions" on their own map and the main body on it's own map.

Can someone point me to a tutorial for Maya or give me a quick set of instructions? Any info is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
 
Old 03-06-2013, 03:34 AM   #2
saks27
3D drummer
portfolio
Jose Contreras
College Station, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 74
look up texture sets
 
Old 03-06-2013, 04:56 AM   #3
popflier
Veteran
 
popflier's Avatar
portfolio
Nicole Ford
Unemployed
Denver, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 37
great, thanks. I'll look into it.

Any additional ideas or tutorial links are welcomed.
 
Old 03-06-2013, 07:51 PM   #4
oglu
Christoph Schädl
 
oglu's Avatar
portfolio
Christoph Schädl
Austria
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,108
just move the uvs to the side...
use mudbox file naming and this script...
http://www.pixelcg.com/blog/?p=88

or do it by hand...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?featur...YhMJLa20#t=708s


if you use vray to render you only have to use mudbox uvtile or mari UDIM file naming for your textures and vray will read the files automatically...
http://www.spot3d.com/vray/help/may...itmap_names.htm
__________________
...

Last edited by oglu : 03-06-2013 at 08:01 PM.
 
Old 03-08-2013, 09:24 AM   #5
popflier
Veteran
 
popflier's Avatar
portfolio
Nicole Ford
Unemployed
Denver, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 37
great! Thank you for the info. Sounds like Vray would be the better way to go in terms of "ease of use" when rendering. I'll definitely considering using Vray for rendering and thanks for the link to the script.
 
Old 03-08-2013, 09:24 AM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.