CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-01-2013, 05:52 PM   #1
KellyM
Expert
 
KellyM's Avatar
Kelly Michels
3ds Max Beta Manager & Senior Autodesk MED QE
Autodesk
Kingwood, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 393
Autodesk 3ds Max 2014 SP2 now live!

Autodesk 3ds Max 2014 Service Pack 2 is now live! http://autodesk.com/3dsmax-updates and http://autodesk.com

This includes the XP x64 startup fix.
__________________
Twitter: @Kelly_Michels
kelly.michels@autodesk.com
3ds Max Senior QA / 3ds Max Beta Manager
M&E Division Beta Administrator
Autodesk, Inc

Last edited by KellyM : 08-01-2013 at 06:21 PM. Reason: Updated links...
 
Old 08-01-2013, 06:37 PM   #2
captain brainiac
Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,133
The navigation to the "Design" page is insane and a recuring annoyance.
Why do i have to click on "related product" while the product itself doesn't show up in the products list on the main page ? This makes no sense at all!

You should at least at this page:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servle...&linkID=9241178

add a link to the design section.

here are tthe links to the design service pack

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servle...linkID=10381720
__________________
Mad,Sad and Bad to the Bone!!!

Last edited by captain brainiac : 08-01-2013 at 06:45 PM.
 
Old 08-02-2013, 09:14 AM   #3
jedie
Expert
portfolio
jens d.
jojo, Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by KellyM
Autodesk 3ds Max 2014 Service Pack 2 is now live! http://autodesk.com/3dsmax-updates and http://autodesk.com

This includes the XP x64 startup fix.


Again and again... I get no mail as a subscription user that SP2 is alive... I read the news in this forum...

Vote: http://3dsmaxfeedback.autodesk.com/...k-hf-available- !
 
Old 08-02-2013, 11:48 AM   #4
TheRazorsEdge
detail freak
 
TheRazorsEdge's Avatar
portfolio
Felix Lahme
Essen, Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,081
Many thanks for the heads-up, Kelly!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jedie
Again and again... I get no mail as a subscription user that SP2 is alive... I read the news in this forum...

Vote: http://3dsmaxfeedback.autodesk.com/...k-hf-available- !


I have been complaining about exactly that for quite a while now and finally given up on it. They simply don't feel the need to establish a mailing list for subscription users, even when Extensions become available, it appears. Why? There's no additional money to be made, only added costs, so they choose to ignore that issue it would seem. I do get lots of useless emails that try to sell me something and subscription renewal reminders starting about 6 months or so prior to the actual expiration date though. That's AD for you right there!

Cheers!
__________________
"Knowing is not enough, we must apply. Willing is not enough, we must do."-Bruce Lee



Last edited by TheRazorsEdge : 08-02-2013 at 12:03 PM.
 
Old 08-02-2013, 03:08 PM   #5
hotknife
Expert
 
hotknife's Avatar
Andrew Whitney
Nottingham,
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,119
Quote:
This includes the XP x64 startup fix.


Cool - I assume this SP is 'safe' to install on Xpx64 render machines - we skipped SP1 for this reason.

Cheers K.

edit : great just read the ReadMe
__________________
Renderfarm hire available @ www.hotknife.co.uk
 
Old 08-02-2013, 05:42 PM   #6
Mike Truly
Expert
Mike Truly
Truly Media
Crested Butte, CO, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 983
Thanks VERY much for this fix... greatly appreciated!! Look forward to trying the new SP when I get some time.

Thanks again!
__________________
Sincerely,

Mike Truly
-----------------------
Truly Media
970.349.5651
www.trulymedia.com
 
Old 08-05-2013, 11:02 PM   #7
Diffus3d
Mad Scientist
 
Diffus3d's Avatar
portfolio
Alfred (AJ) DeFlaminis
3dsmaxTSS
USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,300
Your service pack is 2 bug fixes?
 
Old 08-07-2013, 01:55 AM   #8
KellyM
Expert
 
KellyM's Avatar
Kelly Michels
3ds Max Beta Manager & Senior Autodesk MED QE
Autodesk
Kingwood, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by x24BitVoxel
Your service pack is 2 bug fixes?


Yes, we wanted to get a fix out quickly and also added a Data Analytics package for Edu only licenses (which users can opt out of on the first launch after installing SP2). The multiple UV channels fix was also ready to go in. We are busy on SP3 now with a longer fix list.
__________________
Twitter: @Kelly_Michels
kelly.michels@autodesk.com
3ds Max Senior QA / 3ds Max Beta Manager
M&E Division Beta Administrator
Autodesk, Inc
 
Old 08-07-2013, 01:57 AM   #9
Diffus3d
Mad Scientist
 
Diffus3d's Avatar
portfolio
Alfred (AJ) DeFlaminis
3dsmaxTSS
USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,300
That makes sense.
 
Old 08-07-2013, 06:54 PM   #10
Rawalanche
Senior Noob
 
Rawalanche's Avatar
portfolio
Ludvik Koutny
3D Generalist
Prague, Czech Republic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by x24BitVoxel
That makes sense.



No, it does not.

These two fixes should be maximally a day of work for one person. Definitely not a month. If fixing goes at this speed, then next service pack will be named 3ds Max 2015 and it will cost us a year of subscription fee.
 
Old 08-07-2013, 08:11 PM   #11
Diffus3d
Mad Scientist
 
Diffus3d's Avatar
portfolio
Alfred (AJ) DeFlaminis
3dsmaxTSS
USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rawalanche
No, it does not.

These two fixes should be maximally a day of work for one person. Definitely not a month. If fixing goes at this speed, then next service pack will be named 3ds Max 2015 and it will cost us a year of subscription fee.



One one had, you have a point. On the other hand, they have to make sure it's working on the different OS's, and if I was affected by not being able to use xp64 for my render farm I'd be up in arms.

One thing that strikes me often though is that I'd be out of a job if I did mine they way AD does theirs.
 
Old 08-07-2013, 08:11 PM   #12
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.