CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Character Setup
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2012, 11:17 PM   #1
bls
Frequenter
portfolio
Vassilis Kakoulantonakis
2d-3d artist
Athens, Greece
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 231
Send a message via MSN to bls
Lattice with blendshapes problem

Hi I have a very simple character (box-like) and I attached to him a lattice and also some blendshapes. I also created clusters to control lattice points and then all parent them to a central circle curve to move the hole character. The problem is that when I translate or rotate the character and use blendshapes the vertices of the character trying to match the place of the blendshapes meshes.I tried to fix it from inputs hierarchy but the problem remains.
Please help.
__________________
http://tea3d.blogspot.gr/
 
Old 11-13-2012, 05:50 AM   #2
Horganovski
Freelance Animator/Rigger
 
Horganovski's Avatar
portfolio
Brian Horgan
Graphite9
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,871
One possibility is that you created the blend shapes as World space targets? They should be Local in most cases, certainly for something like this they'd need to be.

Also keep an eye out for double transform issues, I would most likely apply the lattice deformation to the main mesh as a blend shape (apply it to a duplicate of the mesh and leave it connected), I'd also use controllers local positions to drive the lattice clusters, just so I could leave that whole setup at world zero and just pipe the deformations through via the blendshape.

Lots of ways to approach it of course, that's just my typical approach right now for this kind of thing. It keeps things nice and simple to just have a blend shape deformer driving the final mesh for me and makes it easy to add/change things around.

Cheers,
Brian
 
Old 11-13-2012, 07:49 AM   #3
bls
Frequenter
portfolio
Vassilis Kakoulantonakis
2d-3d artist
Athens, Greece
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 231
Send a message via MSN to bls
Thank you very much Horganovski, I did a quick test with your method and works great.
Much appreciated!
__________________
http://tea3d.blogspot.gr/
 
Old 11-13-2012, 04:29 PM   #4
Horganovski
Freelance Animator/Rigger
 
Horganovski's Avatar
portfolio
Brian Horgan
Graphite9
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,871
You're welcome, glad that helped.

Cheers,
Brian
 
Old 11-13-2012, 04:29 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.