CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-10-2012, 01:02 PM   #1
digitalsculpturer
Veteran
portfolio
Deepak.c.c
VFX ARTIST
Freelancer
Mumbai, India
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 87
Send a message via Yahoo to digitalsculpturer
Question Vector displacement render creating cracks in the model

Hi friends
I have a character to be rendered in maya 2013.The model was done in zbrush4R4 and now want the file in maya.I am trying vector displacement map this time instead of normal displacement map.
Everything is working fine.Except once I load VD map in the shader and try to render using MR
the mesh is creating CRACKS or holes in the mesh in the render at seam areas.
I have tried my best solving this problem. :(
I even tried the maps from Mudbox too.So I guess the problem is within MR in maya.
can anybody help me solve this issue.Is it a bug in maya..is VD maps still not compatible with maya .Plz come forward and give me a solution guys .A lot of thanks in advance
 
Old 10-10-2012, 01:19 PM   #2
Horganovski
Freelance Animator/Rigger
 
Horganovski's Avatar
portfolio
Brian Horgan
Graphite9
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,871
It's not a bug, it's just a limit of how far you can push the detail with displacement maps, if you go too far with it you'll get those cracks, especially at the UV seams. Normal maps can cause the same issue too if you crank up the values high enough.

Essentially you need to find the right balance between how detailed the base mesh is and how much detail the displacement map adds to that at render time.

Cheers,
Brian
 
Old 10-10-2012, 01:32 PM   #3
digitalsculpturer
Veteran
portfolio
Deepak.c.c
VFX ARTIST
Freelancer
Mumbai, India
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 87
Send a message via Yahoo to digitalsculpturer
Hi thanks for the reply
My base mesh isnt that low .Its having enough polygons to support the details as i retopo'ed it in Topogun.I am not getting any issues with normal maps and the standard displacement.They are working quite fine.I am getting problem only with vector displacement.
 
Old 10-10-2012, 01:32 PM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.