CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-24-2013, 12:20 PM   #1
anna1
Expert
 
anna1's Avatar
portfolio
Anna Huber
3D Artist
Germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 311
Mesh Deformer not working on sculpted object

Hey,

I sculpted a object and wanted to use a deformer for doing some other stuff with it as well, as it is much quicker done over a deformer, than sculpting it. So I tested it with a simple cube. I sculpted on it, ticked freezed and allow deformation in the sculpting tag and added a sphere deformer under it. So that is perfectly working. But I wanted to use the mesh deformer, so I used the same cube, only a little bit larger and without the sculpting tag, for the mesh cage. Put it into the cage field in the mesh deformer and clicked on initialise. Then it should normally work, but it isn't. No deformation is happening. Although I did the same things as with the sphere deformer. The whole thing is working, if I am deleting the sculpting tag.

So am I just doing something wrong or is it just not working? Would be great to get some help and thanks a lot

Anna
 
Old 08-24-2013, 09:55 PM   #2
dataflow
Expert
 
dataflow's Avatar
portfolio
james hooten
digital media
TAFE
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,065
when you say you used the same cube was it a duplicate of it your a new primitive cube?
if it was a new cube did you make it editable.

if its not that then could you post the c4d file
__________________
Dataflow Donation Cinema 4D Beta Tester
 
Old 08-25-2013, 06:27 AM   #3
anna1
Expert
 
anna1's Avatar
portfolio
Anna Huber
3D Artist
Germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 311
yeah, it was editable. I just uploaded my scene, where I tested it. It is still not working :(

Thanks a lot for your help

Anna
 
Old 08-25-2013, 11:12 AM   #4
dataflow
Expert
 
dataflow's Avatar
portfolio
james hooten
digital media
TAFE
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by anna1
yeah, it was editable. I just uploaded my scene, where I tested it. It is still not working :(

Thanks a lot for your help

Anna

i think its just a limitation of the mesh deformer.
__________________
Dataflow Donation Cinema 4D Beta Tester
 
Old 08-25-2013, 12:27 PM   #5
bunk
Expert
 
bunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 418
I think it's a bug with Sculpt.
Workaround ...drop your sculpt object in a Connect Object and use the Mesh Deformer on the ConnectObject.
 
Old 08-25-2013, 12:45 PM   #6
hsrdelic
Game, set and mesh
 
hsrdelic's Avatar
portfolio
Hrvoje
Split, Croatia
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 331
Enable auto init in deformer
__________________

 
Old 08-25-2013, 01:43 PM   #7
anna1
Expert
 
anna1's Avatar
portfolio
Anna Huber
3D Artist
Germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 311
thanks so much you all it is now working.

I really didn't think about the auto init and the workaround with the connect object is really nice as well
 
Old 08-25-2013, 01:43 PM   #8
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.