CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-30-2011, 09:33 PM   #16
em3
day dreamer
 
em3's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Tyner
3D Artist
Polyform Media
Denver, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 984
Send a message via Yahoo to em3
Marc, finally got a chance to test this out again. This time on a vertical wall. Here is what I found.

Here are the two walls, top is original, bottom is modifier with your plugin.




This is a closeup of the wall with holes cut out for piping


and here is that same section modified.


For my purposes, I just need a more optimized translation as I have many unique walls and like 500 brazillian vertexes on my pipes.

I have yet to test it on an actual terrain mesh (the purpose for which it was created after all) but it looks like it works great and you fixed a lot of issues since the original post. Nice work! I will hit this again when I get some CAD terrain. As you know it's always looks like @$$.
__________________
www.davetyner.com
 
Old 09-30-2011, 09:47 PM   #17
KingOfTheBumps
Frequenter
portfolio
Andrew Adams
Thornton, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 172
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by em3
Marc, finally got a chance to test this out again. This time on a vertical wall. Here is what I found.

Here are the two walls, top is original, bottom is modifier with your plugin.




This is a closeup of the wall with holes cut out for piping


and here is that same section modified.


For my purposes, I just need a more optimized translation as I have many unique walls and like 500 brazillian vertexes on my pipes.

I have yet to test it on an actual terrain mesh (the purpose for which it was created after all) but it looks like it works great and you fixed a lot of issues since the original post. Nice work! I will hit this again when I get some CAD terrain. As you know it's always looks like @$$.



While I don't handle any terrain imports, this tool actually really intrigues me for reasons somewhat illustrated above. I often have to make unique objects out of multiple splines, or a single plane (similar to above), but the mesh is always a mess after. This tool seems like an incredible way to get fantastic geometry before I extrude it into it's shape! Looking forward to playing with this soon!

Andrew
 
Old 01-31-2012, 03:23 PM   #18
em3
day dreamer
 
em3's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Tyner
3D Artist
Polyform Media
Denver, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 984
Send a message via Yahoo to em3
dude, I have been using your terrain tool with a good deal of success. Thanks so much!

It was only yesterday though that I encountered the ultimate challenge for the tool. I tried but it seems like the tool gets "stuck". Any chance you can email you the file?


__________________
www.davetyner.com

Last edited by em3 : 01-31-2012 at 06:16 PM.
 
Old 01-31-2012, 05:15 PM   #19
plastic
Down With The Industry
 
plastic's Avatar
portfolio
Marc Lorenz
Vienna, Austria
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 789
Hey Dave,
sorry I missed all your recent posts, I forgot to subscribe to this thread.
Please send me the file to: office[AT]populate3d[DOT]com

I hope to release a new version soon, I'm tweaking algorithms. A challenging mesh will come handy.
 
Old 01-31-2012, 06:16 PM   #20
em3
day dreamer
 
em3's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Tyner
3D Artist
Polyform Media
Denver, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 984
Send a message via Yahoo to em3
I meant to attach the image in my previous post. Sent!
__________________
www.davetyner.com
 
Old 11-18-2012, 05:56 PM   #21
ice-boy
Expert
b
matrix
sl, Austria
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 757
any tips how to generate a mesh from autocad counter lines that are very complex and detailed?

i get a lot of crashes.
 
Old 11-19-2012, 01:17 PM   #22
TheRazorsEdge
detail freak
 
TheRazorsEdge's Avatar
portfolio
Felix Lahme
Essen, Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,104
Looks very interesting, I'll be sure to try it out.
Thanks a lot for sharing.

Cheers!
__________________
"Knowing is not enough, we must apply. Willing is not enough, we must do."-Bruce Lee


 
Old 11-19-2012, 01:44 PM   #23
plastic
Down With The Industry
 
plastic's Avatar
portfolio
Marc Lorenz
Vienna, Austria
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by ice-boy
any tips how to generate a mesh from autocad counter lines that are very complex and detailed?

i get a lot of crashes.


The problem is that the tool is maxscript based, that means it shares the same performance limitations than comparable tools in max. If the 3ds max Terrain Compound can't handle the splines then my tool probably won't handle it either. But if it does, the result is much nicer
Also the methods of re-meshing are somewhat "unstable", similar to the problems associated with boolean operations and meshes. With certain meshes/shapes it's hit or miss.
That's one of the reasons why this tool is free.
 
Old 11-19-2012, 04:02 PM   #24
ice-boy
Expert
b
matrix
sl, Austria
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 757
i used weld in the editable spline. i used 15-20 cm. the terrain is very big.
 
Old 11-19-2012, 04:06 PM   #25
em3
day dreamer
 
em3's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Tyner
3D Artist
Polyform Media
Denver, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 984
Send a message via Yahoo to em3
I wound up writing a script similar to this one but far less elegant. Got the job done, though.
__________________
www.davetyner.com
 
Old 11-19-2012, 07:19 PM   #26
Mahlon
Lawler's Valet
 
Mahlon's Avatar
Mahlon Bouldin
FedEx Multimedia
Memphis, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,269
Looks great. And thanks!

Mahlon
 
Old 01-29-2013, 04:18 PM   #27
zoubein
Expert
 
zoubein's Avatar
portfolio
Zoubein Rana
East London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 215
Looks interesting. I tried to give it a go but I am not sure I am following the correct work flow. I made a couple of closed splines to mimic a elevation map. Also tried to a cube and thought I could trim a terrain out of it.

What ever I do it seems to just lock up for a while and I just have to crash max. I am using max 2012. Can anyone give me a few pointers?

BTW I love your legacy deconstructer plugin.
 
Old 01-29-2013, 04:18 PM   #28
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.