CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max > Plugins & Add-ons
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-14-2013, 10:29 AM   #331
Byteman3D
Expert
 
Byteman3D's Avatar
portfolio
Nezih Kanbur
Graphic Designer
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 574
Send a message via ICQ to Byteman3D Send a message via MSN to Byteman3D
If it's not a problem to you just send the file and we may check if it causes any troubles here and why.
Otherwise, if the error occurs everytime on a specific frame, you may try to hide objects in a rational order and try to render that frame everytime to find out what may be causing the error. Of course be aware that most of the time it is a combination of errors so you have to be ready for surprises. You have to check with an open mind.
 
Old 05-14-2013, 11:52 AM   #332
sumchans
Know-it-All
portfolio
Sumesh Chandran
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 422
Quote:
I am having some trouble with 3DS Max, all of my effects and materials are in mental ray as well as my lighting, when I try to render in mental ray it goes to about the 40th frame and then errors out. NO error code or anything, just says that it cannot render my video, I have also tried rendering from different frames but to no avail. If anyone has any idea how to fix this please let me know thank you.

It will render in scanline, but all of my effects, such as glow and mental ray materials and lighting disappear.


Hi Crosstian,

Do you have any Fume objects on the scene? For me it was the fume object that was creating problems. Unfortunately I never got an answer for this so I was forced to render it out in scanline. The multiple scattering setting in FumeFX was the culprit for me. I turned it off and then I was able to render it out on mental ray.
__________________
Thanks all.
 
Old 05-16-2013, 05:32 AM   #333
Crosstian
New Member
portfolio
Caleb Goessens
Student
Thornton, USA
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Quote:
If it's not a problem to you just send the file and we may check if it causes any troubles here and why.
Otherwise, if the error occurs everytime on a specific frame, you may try to hide objects in a rational order and try to render that frame everytime to find out what may be causing the error. Of course be aware that most of the time it is a combination of errors so you have to be ready for surprises. You have to check with an open mind.


Where would I send the file, I do not see an attachment option here? The file is a little over 5mb.
 
Old 05-16-2013, 10:03 PM   #334
Byteman3D
Expert
 
Byteman3D's Avatar
portfolio
Nezih Kanbur
Graphic Designer
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 574
Send a message via ICQ to Byteman3D Send a message via MSN to Byteman3D
There may be some file space here but it is probably limited. You may just send it over any file transfer site like wetransfer an put the link here.
 
Old 05-20-2013, 12:52 AM   #335
Crosstian
New Member
portfolio
Caleb Goessens
Student
Thornton, USA
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
http://we.tl/PKgpD3exLK

Here is the link to the file, if you can be any help I would greatly appreciate it and thank you.
 
Old 01-03-2014, 09:57 PM   #336
Dego
New Member
portfolio
Åke Cappelin
3d designer
Sweden
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Hope this hasn't been posted before

Ok, have anyone noticed that the reflections from a bitmap controlled haze value in mr Physical Sky disappears when the reflecting object moves away from the center of the scene? (0,0,0)

In the first picture, the reflective blob is close to (0,0,0), in the second, it has moved quite a long way off. This is very strange to me.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg haze_reflection_1.jpg (35.8 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg haze_reflection_2.jpg (32.7 KB, 16 views)
 
Old 05-28-2014, 05:04 PM   #337
skelgrey
New Member
Jumi Kim
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
This thread is amazing. I found the answer to my problem within the first page!

Definitely putting this in the bookmarks.

Thanks so much everyone :D
 
Old 06-03-2014, 06:35 PM   #338
kerel
New Member
portfolio
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Hello everybody!

Working on an university project I have run into trouble with mental ray. While I am fairly experienced in it, I have very little experience with GI and Caustics, especially in exterior scenes. So lets get to the problems.

This is my render as it is rendered by mental ray:


Scene is lit by a daylight system with mr Sun and mr Sky. Around 5M caustic photons and 2M GI photons. I am using a photon target for the sun with a diameter of 1500 cm.

As you can see there are a number of stray photons ending up on some surfaces makes small bright blue dots or cirkels. Also in the underwater area not lit by the sun, the photon solution is very very crude to say the least. I have already noticed these problems relate to the MR sky, or Mr physical sky environment as turning these off solves the problem (But obviously creates other problems).

So my first question is if anybody knows the reason why these stray photons appear? They seem quite random and appear in unexpected locations.

My second problem is the number of photons. I have been trying to see if the problems are the result of to few photons, but mental ray refuses to render if I increase photon numbers, both when calculating the photons at render time as with precalculating the photons to a photonmap. Mental ray will start calculating photons but simply stops around 4% in, caustics are completely absent in the following renders.

My second question is therefor if there is some sort of photon limit, or some known problem or reason why I cannot increase photon nummbers.
 
Old 11-11-2014, 05:01 AM   #339
Carltheshivan
Veteran
portfolio
Tim Hess
Silver Spring, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 37
Are you using final gather along with it? That can help smooth out problem areas. You might also try using FG only with some bounces instead of GI photons.
 
Old 03-30-2015, 09:20 PM   #340
com3
New Member
portfolio
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Smile 3ds Max issues after using mental Ray

i everyone
I'm new here, in fact this is my first post. I really hope this is the appropriate side to post my issue, if not, my excuses. English is not my firts language, but spanish; so, I will try to explain my problem.

My specs:
Windows 8.1 64bits
Lenovo laptop.
Intel HD card.
4 gb ram
3ds Max 2015 sp3

Issue:
After using mental ray to rendering sci-fi car scene, when reopen Max I notice all the GUI have changed.
Toolbar icons dissapears, the interface looks like windows 95 or earlier.
Please refer to the pic bellow to get my point.



What I've done so far:
I had tried to repair it via Control panel>add Remove programs..., this does not fixed it.
I had downloaded and installed SP3 pack, I thinks perhaps update can solve it, but does not.
I had changed Mental Ray by Default Scaline Render to my meshes, but nothing change here.

What can I do?
Thanks in advance for all the tips.

com3
 
Old 04-01-2015, 07:40 AM   #341
Snake Eyess
Mecha Pilot
 
Snake Eyess's Avatar
Carl Visagie
3D Animator/Designer
Cape Town, South Africa
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 898
try going into Max....
Customize -> Custom UI & Default switcher

choose one of those settings, it should reset your interface
 
Old 04-01-2015, 08:32 PM   #342
com3
New Member
portfolio
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Fixed

Nice one!, thanks a lot Snake Eyess.

com3
 
Old 07-24-2016, 01:44 AM   #343
smr10
Explorer
portfolio
sam
chicago, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 2
3ds max missing maps

hey guys ,Im new to 3ds max
every time I add a mental ray material, it will show an error when I render
I notice that all the materials in the autodesk library are missing bitmap. I reinstalled 3ds max but the same problem, so can you please tell me what i am doing wrong?

https://s3.amazonaws.com/s3.cgsocie...cVAZLWkGgKt.png
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.