CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max > 3dsMax SDK and MaxScript
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2013, 12:41 AM   #1
turtlespeed
Explorer
portfolio
USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
object property driven by texture?

Hello,

Is there a way to control an array of objects via a texture map? Cinema 4d has mograph which is amazingly easy for this. I can do this in Maya because I've used maya since it was born, but I am fairly new to max (loving it) and was wondering if this needs to be scripted or are there controllers with this capability?

I am looking to achieve a pinboard type of effect where I can use animated textures to control the height of the object array. I would also like to be able to control rotation with a different texture. Imagine a hand shape pushing up objects, then along comes a rotational tidal wave that, once flipped, the objects become a different shape.

For business reasons, I'd rather not have to do this in cinema or maya.

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated!
 
Old 03-09-2013, 03:59 AM   #2
denisT
MAX Doctor
 
denisT's Avatar
portfolio
Denis Trofimov
CA, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9,871
Send a message via ICQ to denisT
Quote:
Originally Posted by turtlespeed
Is there a way to control an array of objects via a texture map? ...I can do this in Maya because I've used maya since it was born...

i know what you are talking about. and i know how Maya does do it. it's doable in Max but generally it has to be scripted.
 
Old 03-09-2013, 04:11 AM   #3
turtlespeed
Explorer
portfolio
USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Thank you for the reply. I wanted to make sure that I wasn't overlooking any feature that I haven't read about yet. This is the perfect opportunity for me to dive into some max script.

If successful, I will post back here in case anyone wants to do this as well.
 
Old 03-09-2013, 11:04 AM   #4
Pacermike
Expert
 
Pacermike's Avatar
portfolio
Andrew J Van Dalsem
Senior Animator
Carbine Studios
Santa Ana, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 334
Have a look at this guy's script:

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=1043397

I think it does what you're talking about.
 
Old 03-13-2013, 11:27 PM   #5
gandhics
Expert
 
gandhics's Avatar
Changsoo Eun
VFX Artist
FuseFX
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 973
Use PFlow or TP
 
Old 03-14-2013, 05:04 AM   #6
spaw
Veteran
TD/Visual Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 68
How does maya do it. I ask because it might be worth me writing a plugin that handles some of these cases. Id love to see a spec if nothing else.

-Michael
 
Old 03-14-2013, 05:04 AM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.