CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk Mudbox
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-03-2011, 02:09 AM   #91
iameline
New Member
portfolio
Ian Ameline
Autodesk
toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 8
Mudbox does not use DX

Quote:
Originally Posted by shokan
Hi
Does anybody know if Mudbox uses DirectX to real-time render in its viewports?
Thanks.


No -- it uses OpenGL to do that.
 
Old 05-03-2011, 01:50 PM   #92
DuttyFoot
Expert
 
DuttyFoot's Avatar
stephen curah
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3,423
mudbox 2012 is pretty good and i think i will be getting it for sure. i am still playing with the demo which was working on my laptop yesterday. today i got an error saying that an ati or nvidia card needs to be present for it to run. has anyone experienced this?
__________________
Heights of great men reached and kept were not attained by sudden flight, but they while their companions slept were toiling upwards in the night.
 
Old 05-03-2011, 02:14 PM   #93
iameline
New Member
portfolio
Ian Ameline
Autodesk
toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 8
Startup error

Quote:
Originally Posted by DuttyFoot
mudbox 2012 is pretty good and i think i will be getting it for sure. i am still playing with the demo which was working on my laptop yesterday. today i got an error saying that an ati or nvidia card needs to be present for it to run. has anyone experienced this?


Did anything change from yesterday? Did you install some other software, or could it be running under a VM?

You can skip the graphics check by setting an environment variable --
MUDBOX2011_SKIP_GRAPHICS_CHECK

If you set that, and then go to Mudbox's "System Information" dialog (under the help menu) could you please cut and paste the *entire* contents of that window and post them here?

Thanks.
 
Old 05-03-2011, 04:46 PM   #94
DuttyFoot
Expert
 
DuttyFoot's Avatar
stephen curah
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3,423
Quote:
Did anything change from yesterday? Did you install some other software, or could it be running under a VM?

You can skip the graphics check by setting an environment variable --
MUDBOX2011_SKIP_GRAPHICS_CHECK

If you set that, and then go to Mudbox's "System Information" dialog (under the help menu) could you please cut and paste the *entire* contents of that window and post them here?

Thanks.


nothing changed from yesterday, no new software was installed either. I am not sure what the issue was but it seems to be working now. thanks for the info and help. if it does it again i will try your fix and see what happens.
__________________
Heights of great men reached and kept were not attained by sudden flight, but they while their companions slept were toiling upwards in the night.
 
Old 08-09-2011, 01:28 PM   #95
Oraito
New Member
portfolio
Or Terry
Israel
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Hey everyone!
Happy to join the mudfest community!
 
Old 08-15-2011, 09:03 PM   #96
mookiemu
Frequenter
 
mookiemu's Avatar
Ricky Mujica
New York, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 287
funny, I'm still using mudbox 1.07!

But I think I will finally be biting the bullet. Does anybody know how many licenses you get and can they be for different systems.
I want to put a copy on my Windows workstation and a linux version on my m6500 which is running windows.
__________________
Rick Mujica (mookiemu)
www.rickymujica.com
The Art of Anatomy
 
Old 02-06-2012, 08:21 PM   #97
marcelladk
New Member
portfolio
Marcell
Budapest, Hungary
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 20
Zoom

Hey, can anyone tell me, how can i zoom with mudbox to the last sculpted area? It always zooms to the bottom of my model, this is very annoying to pan always to the desired area, in zbrush its so easy.

thanx marcell
 
Old 02-07-2012, 04:14 AM   #98
DuttyFoot
Expert
 
DuttyFoot's Avatar
stephen curah
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3,423
Quote:
funny, I'm still using mudbox 1.07


same here, unfortunately when i upgraded my pc i couldn't get the serial number to work :(
__________________
Heights of great men reached and kept were not attained by sudden flight, but they while their companions slept were toiling upwards in the night.
 
Old 02-07-2012, 12:41 PM   #99
mookiemu
Frequenter
 
mookiemu's Avatar
Ricky Mujica
New York, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuttyFoot
same here, unfortunately when i upgraded my pc i couldn't get the serial number to work :(


I know what you mean! I can't get it to work on my laptop. That's what is so annoying about DRM. I paid for Mudbox and I'm being penalized for it. Those out there that got a cracked version don't have this issue and their experience is better than mine!
It's what I've been saying all along, DRM doesn't hurt anyone except for honest paying customers and it definitely doesn't stop piracy.
__________________
Rick Mujica (mookiemu)
www.rickymujica.com
The Art of Anatomy
 
Old 02-07-2012, 12:47 PM   #100
robinb
Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcelladk
Hey, can anyone tell me, how can i zoom with mudbox to the last sculpted area? It always zooms to the bottom of my model, this is very annoying to pan always to the desired area, in zbrush its so easy.

thanx marcell


Not a good thread to post this in, but anyway.

Press F with the cursor over something and it'll become the centre of focus. Then zooming in and out will be focused on that area. How much it zooms in when you press f is based on the size of the current brush.
 
Old 02-07-2012, 02:06 PM   #101
marcelladk
New Member
portfolio
Marcell
Budapest, Hungary
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 20
thanx very much sorry for the bad thread
 
Old 06-21-2013, 11:58 AM   #102
Don-Quixote
New Member
portfolio
Marco Ignoto
Cosenza, IT
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Welcome Me


Hi guys I'm new of this forum, and I'm more new of Mudbox, but it was love at first sight XD
 
Old 08-27-2013, 05:09 PM   #103
Asimov
PRO
 
Asimov's Avatar
portfolio
Thomas Williams
Freelance 3D Artist
Dudley, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 65
Thumbs up New at the forum and at mudbox

Hi all,

I am new to this forum, and to mudbox. I have been using 3ds max for about 6 years, and I am fairly proficient in that, but I want to push the bounderies of what I can do.

Tried zbrush, and made a few chocolate oranges, and I didn't get on with the alien interface.
However mudbox is like a breath of fresh air. I do have a lot to learn though.

Some people who use 3ds max might know me from Maxrealms.

Asimov
 
Old 08-29-2013, 09:35 PM   #104
PaulHellard
Writer/Editor/Bloke
 
PaulHellard's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Paul Hellard
Fmr Editor, CGSociety
Hellard Media
Melbourne, Australia
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,252
Send a message via ICQ to PaulHellard Send a message via MSN to PaulHellard Send a message via Yahoo to PaulHellard
Welcome guys! Good to see some more practitioners making the jump.
__________________
For Editor and features writer, CGSociety; Global Artist Liaison, Ballistic Publishing. Freelance writer, media consultant & digital producer.
 
Old 01-28-2016, 10:30 AM   #105
kybio
Scout
 
kybio's Avatar
portfolio
karlay souza
porto%2Balegre, Brazil
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 37
Hi people!!

Other alternative software to try:
http://www.meshmolder.com/download.html
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.