CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Rendering
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2012, 09:24 PM   #1
kassun
Frequenter
 
kassun's Avatar
portfolio
Kassun Majchrzak Majchrzak
3D Modeler / Texture Artist
Kassuns Inc
United States
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 260
Send a message via MSN to kassun Send a message via Yahoo to kassun
Question Graininess in render

I am doing some rending of our device for an interactive 360 tour. I am using Mentalray, 3 area lights and finalgather. I have my scene all lit up, but I am getting a graininess when rendering. How do I get rid of the grain and smooth it all out? I've attached a image to demonstrate.

Thanks,
Kassun
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen shot 2012-12-28 at 3.15.53 PM.png (93.9 KB, 38 views)
__________________
"The day you stop dreaming is the day you die"
www.kassuns.com
 
Old 12-29-2012, 04:11 AM   #2
TheNeverman
TF2 Meatshield
 
TheNeverman's Avatar
portfolio
Nate Skow
Production Artist
USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,212
When using area lights - the default sampling settings typically are pretty low for performance reason. You need to raise the min/max samples to get higher quality.
__________________
"They're toys. My friends are toys, I made them..."
J.F. Sebastian

CGSociety Folding@Home team


CGSociety TF2
 
Old 12-29-2012, 04:59 AM   #3
Kakkoii
Expert
 
Kakkoii's Avatar
portfolio
Mitch Zais
CG Generalist
N/A
Kelowna, Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 629
Send a message via MSN to Kakkoii
Increasing area samples is one way, the old methods. But read this short article about area lights in mental ray, it should help.
http://elementalray.wordpress.com/2...rea-lights-101/
 
Old 01-02-2013, 08:19 PM   #4
kassun
Frequenter
 
kassun's Avatar
portfolio
Kassun Majchrzak Majchrzak
3D Modeler / Texture Artist
Kassuns Inc
United States
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 260
Send a message via MSN to kassun Send a message via Yahoo to kassun
Thumbs up

TheNeverman: Thanks
Kakkoii: Thanks for the article, it's been a great help. I adjusted my settings and now all is crisp and clear.

-Kassun
__________________
"The day you stop dreaming is the day you die"
www.kassuns.com
 
Old 01-04-2013, 03:39 PM   #5
TheNeverman
TF2 Meatshield
 
TheNeverman's Avatar
portfolio
Nate Skow
Production Artist
USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,212
Unless I'm missing something - the link you posted describes how to adjust what I pointed out...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kakkoii
Increasing area samples is one way, the old methods. But read this short article about area lights in mental ray, it should help.
http://elementalray.wordpress.com/2...rea-lights-101/
__________________
"They're toys. My friends are toys, I made them..."
J.F. Sebastian

CGSociety Folding@Home team


CGSociety TF2
 
Old 01-04-2013, 03:39 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.