CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max > Plugins & Add-ons
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2016, 08:32 PM   #5941
zoubein
Expert
 
zoubein's Avatar
portfolio
Zoubein Rana
East London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 213
Thanks for the screenshot. Seems super simple but I cant seem to get it to work. I have tried setting the smoke color source from gradient to grid . I have tried putting the the data op in different events still no luck
 
Old 07-11-2016, 08:37 PM   #5942
DeKo-LT
Expert
 
DeKo-LT's Avatar
portfolio
DeKo
FREElance
Vilnius, Lithuania
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 339
Maybe Simulate Color channel in Sim tab wasn't turned on?

Here is a max2016 file to play with:
max file
__________________
 
Old 07-11-2016, 08:51 PM   #5943
zoubein
Expert
 
zoubein's Avatar
portfolio
Zoubein Rana
East London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 213
Got it! simulate color was on. The issue is when you pick your pfsource you have to pick all the events and not just the engine ie PF source 01 you have to pick events as well. PF source 01 ->event1 etc, Thanks for your help.
 
Old 07-20-2016, 02:22 PM   #5944
zoubein
Expert
 
zoubein's Avatar
portfolio
Zoubein Rana
East London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 213
Hi

As with the colors is it possible to send direction vector information from Pflow to fume fx. I am trying to create this effect, but I have a few streams of particles travelling on the surface and I want the smoke to follow this motion rather than go straight up.

http://www.afterworks.com/fumefx/Sources.asp?ID=8

Last edited by zoubein : 07-20-2016 at 02:26 PM.
 
Old 07-21-2016, 09:27 AM   #5945
DeKo-LT
Expert
 
DeKo-LT's Avatar
portfolio
DeKo
FREElance
Vilnius, Lithuania
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 339
Video example from afterworks website uses map to control direction. You can add colored map in to Velocity, Directional map slot, where Red color will move fluid to X direction, Green - Y and Blue - Z.
Or there is a cool example in help file how to use FFXVertexPaint modifier.

Making additional velocities from particles in easy way - just add new particle source, disable all channels generations (fuel, temp, smoke) except Velocity Multiplier. Usuall it works, never tried to read actual pflow data. And would gladly see your result at the end
__________________
 
Old 07-22-2016, 10:42 AM   #5946
zoubein
Expert
 
zoubein's Avatar
portfolio
Zoubein Rana
East London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 213
Hi

Yeah I went through the workflow and i understand it but I wasn't able to get the result I want.They smoke starts taking the velocity but instead of following it shoots out at a tangent. From my experiments I think the FFX vertex painter maybe needs a fairly dense geometry to work. Maybe painting a map with photoshop will work better as you say.


Making additional velocities from particles in easy way - just add new particle source, disable all channels generations (fuel, temp, smoke) except Velocity Multiplier. Usuall it works, never tried to read actual pflow data.

do you mean you can use another FFX grid as a velocity source?

I am hoping to crack it this weekend will post something
 
Old 07-25-2016, 07:42 AM   #5947
tamagochy
PRO
portfolio
Andrii Belskyi
Fx Artist
UPP
Prague, Czech Republic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 78
Send a message via ICQ to tamagochy
You're no need another grid just create another source and only use velocity. I did it all time before. But later i started use stoke for it.
__________________
website
Showreel 2014
 
Old 07-28-2016, 05:19 PM   #5948
klaasisbaas
Explorer
 
klaasisbaas's Avatar
portfolio
klaas van egdom
Utrecht, Netherlands
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3
Trying fumefx 4.0 for a month now and I'm really liking it, but after some simulations and changing the settings I'm getting a weird bug as if fumefx doesn't allow the fire and smoke to rise, when this happens i save my file, reset 3Ds max and reopen the file then it's behaving normal again. it's getting pretty frustrating to reset every time. does someone know whats causing this?

I've attached a link with screenshots of the same simulation with the same settings

http://imgur.com/a/n9Kz3
 
Old Yesterday, 04:09 AM   #5949
kthalas
Explorer
portfolio
Ronald Alberto
lima, PE
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 16
Fringing Problems

Hi! I have this weird edges around the geo, they are now more apparent because I put some "fire" behind. If I turn off the fire the geo gets a dark edge (less noticeable but still there) I'm rendering everything with Vray and the "gamma/Lut correction" disabled. Any advice is welcomed. I'm compositing everything in Nuke.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg error.jpg (28.8 KB, 4 views)
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.