CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2012, 11:41 AM   #1
Alpina
New Member
portfolio
Tomas
Vilnius, Lithuania
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Need help solving simple problems

Hey guys, I hope it's alright to create this thread so I can post questions which are easy, but I couldn't solve them myself or find answers on internet.


1. I am modelling bullet, and I made few edge rings on it and everything was fine, but I probably done something and now when I move one edge ring, some other edge rings move with it as well. Not at same speed but they move. So how to make them not to move? If it's not clear, I can make a pic.

2. Am I supposed to smooth every realistic model i make in the end? By smooth I mean press number 3. Also is it good idea to model object who is already smoothed, or better develop it, and only then smooth?

Thanks.

Last edited by Alpina : 12-01-2012 at 12:50 PM.
 
Old 12-01-2012, 12:51 PM   #2
djx
Where's my pony?
 
djx's Avatar
David Johnson
vfx & creature td
Melbourne, Australia
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,418
The answer to 1 is that it sounds like you did what you mentioned in 2, which is you hit the 3 key and smoothed the object. This smoothing does not change the geo, just changes the way it is displayed (and possibly rendered), so when you select an edge loop and move it, you are really selecting the loop on the unsmoothed model, but you see it moving the smoothed one.

The answer to 2 is both yes and no. It depends on many things. For example, organic models are often created so that they can look good if smoothed at render time. On the other hand, hard surface models may not work at all if you smooth them.

David
__________________
http://www.djx.com.au
 
Old 12-01-2012, 01:18 PM   #3
Alpina
New Member
portfolio
Tomas
Vilnius, Lithuania
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by djx
The answer to 1 is that it sounds like you did what you mentioned in 2, which is you hit the 3 key and smoothed the object. This smoothing does not change the geo, just changes the way it is displayed (and possibly rendered), so when you select an edge loop and move it, you are really selecting the loop on the unsmoothed model, but you see it moving the smoothed one.

The answer to 2 is both yes and no. It depends on many things. For example, organic models are often created so that they can look good if smoothed at render time. On the other hand, hard surface models may not work at all if you smooth them.

David


Thanks David, first was exactly like you said haha.

On smoothing, I am mainly talking about polygons here, so in the end I will always want to smooth polygons, right?
 
Old 12-01-2012, 01:46 PM   #4
djx
Where's my pony?
 
djx's Avatar
David Johnson
vfx & creature td
Melbourne, Australia
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,418
I was talking about polys too. I would say that 99% of the organic type models get smoothed for rendering. For these types of models, I usually skin the unsmoothed mesh in the anim rig, and cache that out. The render rig then has a polySmooth node after the cacheFile node.

But if I was modelling a machine part with lots of hard straight edges and sharp corners, it is much less likely that I would smooth the whole model. Often I would just model in the details where I need, especially if I'm trying to keep the face count down. Smoothing this type of model might round off edges that need to stay sharp. Of course I could drop in extra edge loops to preserve the hard corners, and sometimes I do that, but more often I keep those type of meshes simple with no smoothing.

David
__________________
http://www.djx.com.au
 
Old 12-01-2012, 02:13 PM   #5
Alpina
New Member
portfolio
Tomas
Vilnius, Lithuania
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by djx
I was talking about polys too. I would say that 99% of the organic type models get smoothed for rendering. For these types of models, I usually skin the unsmoothed mesh in the anim rig, and cache that out. The render rig then has a polySmooth node after the cacheFile node.

But if I was modelling a machine part with lots of hard straight edges and sharp corners, it is much less likely that I would smooth the whole model. Often I would just model in the details where I need, especially if I'm trying to keep the face count down. Smoothing this type of model might round off edges that need to stay sharp. Of course I could drop in extra edge loops to preserve the hard corners, and sometimes I do that, but more often I keep those type of meshes simple with no smoothing.

David


Got it, thanks

Now if it's cool, I will later post in this thread in case I get other questions i won't be able to find solution myself and it's better than creating a new thread each time I guess
 
Old 12-01-2012, 08:18 PM   #6
InfernalDarkness
Madness. Madness, I say!
 
InfernalDarkness's Avatar
portfolio
Sho Pi
CG arch/viz
Seattle, USA
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,625
I personally never use "3" to smooth anything. I don't see how it's helpful at all. That said, most of my modeling is organic life (flowers, plants) OR plumbing and lighting fixtures, architectural detailing and props. If you want your model smoother, just smooth it! Smooth preview might be good for other types of modeling, such as creatures or characters, however.
__________________
Commodore 64 @ 1MHz
64KB RAM
1541 Floppy Drive


"Like stone we battle the wind... Beat down and strangle the rains..."
 
Old 12-01-2012, 08:18 PM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.