CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2012, 11:28 AM   #1
deepika01
New Member
portfolio
Deepika Mali
no comp
jaipur, India
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Noisy effect in the render..depth!!

I've done this rendering in 3ds max 2012 using Vray renderer 2.0...the output is carried out on a medium quality..yet some portions of my render are a bit noisy..if any one can suggest me how to irradicate that..also if u could find any other flaws in my render then do suggest me ...!!
thank you!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 98.jpg (91.7 KB, 52 views)
 
Old 11-05-2012, 10:25 PM   #2
gruhn
Expert
 
gruhn's Avatar
portfolio
Peter M. Gruhn
Medfield, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 639
Glossy reflections. I forget the terms. There's a way to spread the samples out. Fast Glossy maybe? I'm not good at fixing the problem. ;-)
 
Old 11-05-2012, 11:02 PM   #3
Swahn
Expert
 
Swahn's Avatar
Daniel Swahn
Sweden
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 344
If you can afford the render time, use Adaptive DMC with settings

Min Subdivs 1
Max Subdivs 100
Adaptive Amount 1.0

And set the Noise Treshold below 0.001 or lower for noise free sampling. The lower the value the less noise you get, but it will also increase render time considerably. But the treshold value is the only thing you need to control as all glossy effects answer to the DMC settings globally.

You can check out the Embree plugin for Vray which might speed up your render 75% the original render time if you're lucky. http://www.spot3d.com/vray/misc/
 
Old 11-06-2012, 12:00 PM   #4
deepika01
New Member
portfolio
Deepika Mali
no comp
jaipur, India
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swahn
If you can afford the render time, use Adaptive DMC with settings

Min Subdivs 1
Max Subdivs 100
Adaptive Amount 1.0

And set the Noise Treshold below 0.001 or lower for noise free sampling. The lower the value the less noise you get, but it will also increase render time considerably. But the treshold value is the only thing you need to control as all glossy effects answer to the DMC settings globally.

You can check out the Embree plugin for Vray which might speed up your render 75% the original render time if you're lucky. http://www.spot3d.com/vray/misc/

Increasing the Max Sub value to 100 takes the rendering time to skies !! don't u think..well yeah reducing the Noise Threshold to .001 helped decreasing the the noisy effect !!

Last edited by deepika01 : 11-27-2012 at 05:08 AM.
 
Old 11-06-2012, 05:36 PM   #5
Swahn
Expert
 
Swahn's Avatar
Daniel Swahn
Sweden
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by deepika01
Increasing the Max Sub value to 100 is takes the rendering time to skies !! don't u think..


Actually no, it all depends on the Noise Threshold value and the amount of contrast in individual image features. The higher the contrast the more samples. But if the Max Sub value is too low there won't be enough additional samples even if you set the Noise Threshold to 0.001 or lower. It is the beauty of adaptive sampling, it put samples where they are needed.

But in general, all monte-carlo based renderings will take long time to get noise free, especially for blurry effects, but in the Vray DMC algorithm makes it adaptive, which helps quite a bit. Try use the Embree plugin and see if it can speed things up a bit.

Last edited by Swahn : 11-06-2012 at 05:40 PM.
 
Old 11-09-2012, 10:47 AM   #6
deepika01
New Member
portfolio
Deepika Mali
no comp
jaipur, India
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swahn
Try use the Embree plugin and see if it can speed things up a bit.

I tried to install the plugin but somehow my Max doesn't seem to except any of its versions.
I am using Max Design 2012, VRay 2.0 32/64-bit windows.
 
Old 11-09-2012, 10:51 AM   #7
Swahn
Expert
 
Swahn's Avatar
Daniel Swahn
Sweden
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by deepika01
I tried to install the plugin but somehow my Max doesn't seem to except any of its versions.
I am using Max Design 2012, VRay 2.0 32/64-bit windows.


I think you need Vray 2.3.x for it to work.
 
Old 11-09-2012, 07:01 PM   #8
musashidan
Bar Stool Enthusiast
 
musashidan's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel McGrath
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swahn
I think you need Vray 2.3.x for it to work.


Yes, it's 2.3. I hear 2.4 will have the tech built-in. Also, unless you have a modern intel cpu you won't see any gains.
 
Old 11-09-2012, 09:53 PM   #9
Diffus3d
Mad Scientist
 
Diffus3d's Avatar
portfolio
Alfred (AJ) DeFlaminis
3ds Max Tech Support
Autodesk
USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swahn
If you can afford the render time, use Adaptive DMC with settings

Min Subdivs 1
Max Subdivs 100
Adaptive Amount 1.0



That's the old "Universal method" but it's long outdated and no longer gives the right results. Many will find 2/6 to be better *and* faster these days...
 
Old 11-09-2012, 09:53 PM   #10
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.